1:28 p.m. | 2003-02-23

Elton John�s Been Sitting On My Roof.

This morning when I went out to the garage, I noticed clumps of moss strewn about the walkway and yard. Immediately, the lyric �I sat on the roof and kicked off the moss� from Your Song as sung by Elton John popped into my head. Now, I must admit, if Elton John had sat on my garage roof and kicked off the moss, I would�ve been quite cross that he didn�t drop in to say hi. However, over the years, I�ve found that whenever something rather odd is happening in my yard, the culprit is more than likely a squirrel. And, it is.


Yesterday, I went to a cultural exposition. I had been planning to go check it out as there were a number of things I wanted to see, people I was hoping to run into and I wanted to watch Drummer perform with his band.

I was misinformed as to when Drummer was playing so I went to the stage area a little too soon. Which is how I ended up watching the fashion show. That�s when I realized that I�ve never been to one before. Having seen one now, here�s what I think: models should smile.

I think they�re going for an austere and/or sophisticated appearance, however they just looked pissed off to me. And about as snuggly as cacti. Of course, I know nothing about the modeling world, so there it is.

I was happy to see that the models ranged from size 0 to size 24 or so, and most had natural bodies. There were a couple of surgically enhanced, stereotypic model types but the majority just had normal bodies with nice shapes and pretty faces. And the outfits ranged from tastefully teasing to almost complete nudity.

It was interesting to say the least.

Following the fashion show, Drummer and his band performed. This time, Drummer was on the keyboard though. They were fantastic!

He�s not in a traditional band though. Instead, he�s a co-founder of a collaborative effort where musicians, poets and artists all meet a couple of times a month and work together on songs, music and lyrics. Most of the members have their own CDs and/or independent artistic careers, but now they combine their talents to produce various pieces of work. It�s open to everyone, so the band is kind of fluid. It�s members, at any particular event, change depending on schedules, etc. Interesting concept. And, it works very well.


Worst pickup line I heard yesterday:

�I�ve got a hundred dollar bill in my pocket; do you have change for a hundred?�

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003