7:50 p.m. | 2003-02-25

Don�t I Know You?

I used to hang around with this couple. I�ll call them Frank and Chuck, just to annoy laila726 and to make her sister, tuff517 giggle. Because that�s the kind of friend I am.

Anyway, Frank and Chuck loved going to the movies and they were always dragging me along. As I�m quite finicky about movies, they would bribe me by paying my way and taking me out to dinner when they knew I didn�t want to see some stupid show. It worked too, because that kind of bribery works for me and because I really had a lot of fun with them. Did I mention that I was in law school at the time? Yeah. Well. Even the worst movie was better than doing homework.

Plus, Chuck had this wonderfully infectious laugh. Huge, LOUD, belly laughter. His laugh was so infectious, CDC considered quarantining him. Chuck and I would get into laughing loops that were tremendously difficult to get out of � kind of like quicksand. He made other people laugh too. For example, when we were leaving the theatre after watching Four Rooms, a lady stopped him. This is that.

(Woman:) (To Chuck.) Excuse me sir but I just have to tell you that you have the best laugh I�ve ever heard.

(Chuck:) Thank you. That was a pretty funny movie.

(Woman:) It was a lot funnier sitting by you. There were parts in that movie that I didn�t find that funny but I was laughing because you were laughing.

Yeah. He got that all the time. The tomato joke in Pulp Fiction? Chuck had to go out to the lobby for a good 10 minutes to stop laughing that time. In fact, we had to see Pulp Fiction many times just so we could pick up the stuff we missed when we were laughing.

So, one day Frank and Chuck drug me to another movie. While Frank went to find the �perfect� seats, Chuck and I went and got popcorn, snacks and sodas. As we were walking back to meet Frank, we noticed that people were all clustered around waiting to be let into the room. This is what happened when we approached the people.

(John:) Hey CI! It�s me, John. You remember me right?

(CI:) Um, no. I�m sorry but I don�t recognize you.

(John:) Oh come on CI! For gods sake you HAD SEX WITH ME! Now you�re saying you don�t remember me? We SLEPT TOGETHER! How could you forget me?

(CI:) (Turning as red as five fire engines. On fire.) Look, I don�t know how you know my name, but I HAVE NEVER SEEN YOU BEFORE IN MY LIFE!

Then I heard Frank laughing. Yeah. He was just playing a little joke on me. Ha. Ha. Ha. In front of a huge crowd of people. Ha. Ha. Ha. John was a friend of Frank�s and Chuck�s, and interestingly, his boyfriend was my veterinarian. Or rather my pets� vet. He joined us for the evening. And he kept saying this to me.

�Oh my GAWD! Are you related to Jodie Foster? You just have to be! You look just like her! You are soooo babelicious!!

I spent most of the night thinking this.

�Oh for gods sake, why is it that all the guys that say stuff like this to me are gay?�

Of course, I think it had something to do with the fact that I hung around gay guys. Just a guess there. I don�t remember what movie we saw but we had a blast. Unfortunately, Frank and Chuck eventually broke up and moved away as did John and Vet. God, I miss them.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003