6:19 p.m. | 2003-03-21

I�m No Security Expert, But I Think This Measure Falls A Little Short.

I work near a building that has a loading area in front of it. The curb area is set back about 10�-15� so trucks and such can pull in and unload without blocking the regular street traffic and don�t have to double park. People also use this area in the evening to pick up people from work. The building is multi-storied and contains a variety of offices including local/state government agencies and big and small private businesses/firms.

I recently noticed that this loading zone has been blocked off with yellow caution tape strung between two sawhorses. Tonight, I was trying to figure out why they�d blocked this area off. I found out when I heard some people talking as they left the building.

Apparently, this measure has been taken in order to prevent anyone from pulling up in front of the building with truckloads of bombs, or other such incendiary devices, thereby increasing the occupants� safety. And, I must say that I agree with the overheard commentary that a little bit of caution tape and a couple of sawhorses won�t do much to prevent a big, explosive truck from parking right dab in front of the building.

But, I guess drastic times call for drastic measures.


Quote of the Day.

�Excuse me, Miss? You have a� you have a� um, sticky-note in your hair.�

That came from a nice businesswoman who was walking behind me. She even extracted it from my tresses. I recognized it as a sticky note I had placed on my computer monitor to remind me of something. And, no, I don�t know how I managed to get it stuck to the back of my head. I�m guessing that�s a �Fashion Don�t�, but what do I know?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003