7:25 p.m. | 2003-03-22

Four Out Of Five Young Girls Love Horses.

One of our small local papers features a Question of the Week where they randomly ask different people the same question and then post their pictures and answers. They recently asked 5 young ladies (4 look like preteens, 1 looks 15-16 years of age) the following question:

�What do you want to do when you get older?�

Here are their answers.

�I want to be a horse vet because I want to help horses in need.� R.H.

�I want to be a horse trainer because I love horses.� M.G.

�I want to be a professional, champion horse rider and a teacher.� C.R.

�A vet, horse trainer and animal shelter helper who gives animal shelters lots of money.� K.S.

�I want to be an elementary teacher because I like little kids.� H.S.

Remember Hasbro�s My Little Pony from the 1980�s? It was such a hit because Hasbro realized that young girls love horses, but very few are actually able to own a real one. Prior to My Little Pony, most toy horses were designed to attract young, wannabe cowboys. Hasbro, however, made horses that were all pink and purple, with flowing manes that girls could comb, and they came with babies to mother.

My Little Pony also had a theme song. I�ve never felt compelled to post song lyrics before but I felt these lyrics might help to illustrate the depth of this pony passion.

My Little Pony...My Little Pony

What will today's adventure be?

My Little Pony...My Little Pony

Will there be exciting sights to see?

Where will you wander? Hither and yonder?

Letting your heart be your guide.

My Little Pony...My Little Pony

I'll be there right by your side.

I'll be there right by your side.

As I grew up mostly in the 1970�s, I never had a pink pony with a mane you could comb. I had a cowboy horse. And, I had to make up my own theme song. Oh, and my pony had to walk five miles to the barn. In the snow. Uphill. Both ways. See, you youngsters had it so much easier.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003