8:44 p.m. | 2003-03-25

Are You Listening?

As part of my job, I have to listen and/or watch various proceedings which occur at MyOtherWorkPlace across the street. I also have to write a lot of stuff. For efficiency�s sake, our division has both TVs and squawk boxes so we can listen/watch while we�re working at our desks.

Sometimes, a matter is televised and at other times, only the audio is provided. That means I have to be able to listen to stuff sans visual assistance. And, it�s not like they�re singing and doing poetry readings and such. They�re just talking, mostly about boring things. Without the visuals, I can�t people watch to keep myself entertained so I often tune out. During certain proceedings, they talk about both things that do pertain to our division and things that don�t. Therefore, I have to know when to tune in and when to tune out.

It�s like being a parent. You tune out a lot when your child is rambling on about some nonsense but certain cues cause you to tune in quickly. Like when they�re suddenly quiet or shout out in pain and distress.

I often listen to proceedings that don�t have anything to do with our division solely to enhance my skills in identifying certain pertinent cues. And, of course, to continue learning how to balance listening to one thing with writing about something completely different. Not an easy task.

So today, while I was listening to something unrelated to our division, I heard a dog bark. A big dog. At first, I thought I was imagining it because there�s no reason why there�d be a dog in one of the proceeding rooms. Then I heard it again. Maybe a service dog? But service dogs have a job to do and don�t just randomly bark for no apparent reason. At least, not while on duty.

I stopped writing and focused my attention on my squawk box. Several barks later, I finally realized it was actually a man sneezing. (It�s allergy season here.) I don�t know who the man is, but when he sneezes, it sounds like a dog barking.

That could make for an interesting party trick.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003