11:25 p.m. | 2003-03-24

I Shouldn�t Be Left Unsupervised. Really.

So tonight, as I was driving home, I decided to drop by and attend a public hearing. Then, when I got there, I decided to sign up to testify. I figured that when they called me up to the podium, I would just state my name for the record and note my opposition to the matter at hand.

Did I do that? Uh, no. I got up, walked to the lectern and proceeded to share my feelings about the matter. Completely off the top of my head.

In front of a governing board and a roomful of people. Oh, and did I mention that it�ll be televised? Uh, yeah. It will. Not once, but twice this week.

The outcome? It didn�t go the way I was hoping but my concerns were noted as valid and did provoke much discussion.

I have to say, that�s one of the most bizarre impulses I�ve ever had. And, I�ve never done that before. At least, in a personal capacity. Suddenly, I�m all civic minded or something. What�s all that bullshit about?

Since I don�t really know who was in the room � they were behind me � who knows how many people I pissed off. Good thing that I clearly noted my name for the record, huh?


Four months ago, my father died. I still keep thinking that he�ll be there when I visit. Wonder how long it�ll be until I realize he won�t.


On a lighter note, 15 years ago, my nephew, �Happy Henderson� was born. Happy was 3 months premature and weighed in at a little more than two pounds. Now he�s taller than me. But, of course, pretty much everyone over 8 years of age is taller than me. Anyway, Happy Birthday to Happy.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003