8:25 p.m. | 2003-04-04

What The Hell Was I Doing In High School?

I was rummaging around the old homestead this evening and found my high school sophomore yearbook. The year was 1980 and I was 15 years old. Here are some of the more interesting inscriptions.

From Other Students

�For a shrimp your mouth makes up for it. Just stay that way. I know you won�t, but stay out of trouble this summer. Love, Vince�

�Well kid, you�re super! Always remember me � how could I forget you?! Love, Lisa G.�

�I�m glad we got to spend 2 years in high school together. It was fun(!?!) Take care and stay out of trouble. [Eldest Sister]�

�You�re a pretty nice girl and I�m glad I got to know you this year although I wish I could have gotten to know you better. Sorry you�re leaving his year. It�s been fun and good luck. Love, Rick� �Sorry!�

�You�re pretty nice and having you in Biology was a blast. See you next year. Love, Rick.� [That�s the same Rick as above. The first entry was to someone else.]

�I hope to see you during the summer when things are kicking up so take care and be kool fool. Your good friend. Love ya, Robert�

�This year went by so fast � thank god. Now there�s only 2 more years to go. You�re a fun and crazy person and I like you a lot. Good luck this summer with the guys and DON�T get into trouble. Love ya lots, Mary�

�Have a superior summer and a hellacious year! I can�t begin to tell you how much you mean to me, a friendship that has given me a little more honesty with myself. I love your personality and your reality (of course, your craziness makes things good too). Take care and all that shit. Forever, Lisa M.�

�You�re a real nice girl and a crack-up besides. You made both French and Biology a lot of fun. Hope to see you over the summer. Love, Richard�

�Ha, Ha, you got two years left and I only got one. Make the best of it. You�re a killer. I know there�s a lot of things we both don�t understand about a lot of things, but I�m sure we�ll get it worked out � if we stick to it, and together. Keep it easy and stay mellow. #1 Fan, [Dearest Sister]�

�You have always been so nice to me and that�s why I love you. Keep cool and I�ll see you at some parties this summer, ok? Just remember if you ever need a shoulder to lean on you can count on me. Love always, Gary�

�Remember that time we went to [another town]? Todd and Craig, what a joke. Stay out of trouble and don�t go out with weird guys like that. Love, Kathleen�

�It was fun with you in Geometry with the massaging line up we had. Have a fun summer and stay the way you are. Mike�

�You�re a really neat and friendly person. I�m jealous! I wish I had your smarts! Take care and be a friend. Love & Sunshine, Melody.�

�Go to the river today fucked your fucked teachers fuck. Love always, Dalton�

From Teachers/Coaches

�It was a pleasure to have you in class. You had a way of brightening up the day. Good luck in the future. Mr. B.�

�To a beautiful lady. Keep up the good attitude and look for the future � it will be good to you if you want it to be. Mr. G.�

�Really enjoyed having you in class, keep up your writing. Your sensitivity and understanding are great assets. Keep them always. Ms. R.�

�You have such great ideas for this place � maybe someday you�ll enforce them. Good luck next year � because being the smallest person in the school � you�ll certainly need some. Ms. D.�

�Wilt, Small Fry, One who is cut off at the Ankles, Tiny Tot � If only you were tall enough to at least see through the net (in tennis, not volleyball!) You are a kick to have in class and just to know in general. I admire you standing out there in soccer class and being pelted by the hard, wet, soccer balls � it only shows your stupidity or your loyalty and courage to your team. Have a fun summer and I�ll see you next year � or at least show your head above the net once in a while � or wave � I�ll see your hand.� Ms. B.

�Love, Dad.�


My favorite picture in this particular yearbook is a picture of Eldest Sister � dressed up as Raggedy Andy � and Dearest Sister � dressed up as Raggedy Ann � for Halloween. The caption underneath it says: �Aren�t we cute?� Dearest Sister wrote the following next to it: �I don�t feel very cute � I feel stupid.�


The high school I went to was quite small � 300 students � and My Dad was one of the teachers/coaches. And, apparently, I was a little wacky back then too. I guess some things never change.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003