7:25 p.m. | 2003-04-03

As My World Turns.

You guys remember my new best friend, The Grim Reaper, right? Yeah. Alrighty then. He paid a visit this morning and snatched my Grandmother. He�s been stalking her for a while. She was in her 80�s, quite senile and no longer recognized anyone. I think she was ready to go.


In better news, I spoke with Dearest Sister today. Here�s that.

(CI:) I hope you enjoyed your birthday yesterday.

(DS:) Yeah, I did. So, I guess I�m forty now. I don�t mind the aging thing. I mean, when I think about my 20�s, everything I did was stupid. I can�t even believe how dumb I was. Then, my 30�s? I wasn�t as stupid, but, I don�t know, it was just weird. But, I�m kind of excited about my 40�s.

(CI:) Yeah, I don�t mind aging either. With each phase, things just seem to get better or easier or something.

(DS:) You know, back when I was in my 20�s, I decided that when I turned 40, I was going to start being logical and rational. You know, grow up and everything.

(CI:) So, how�s that working out?

(DS:) I tried it yesterday, and well, okay, it just didn�t work out at all. But, I�m going try it again.

Really, Dearest Sister is just a free spirit and I love that about her. It would be weird if she started acting all different now. Plus, she really doesn�t need to because she�s pretty much figured out how to remain a free spirit within the confines of being a working, single mother in this crazy world of ours.

And, she�s got oodles of common sense. Check this out.

(CI:) Hey, you know, I made this decision and I just want to run it by you to see what you think.

(DS:) What do you think about it? Are you okay with it?

(CI:) Yeah, I�m perfectly fine with it, but sometimes I do unconventional things so I wanted to bounce it off you to see if I was being too wacky.

(DS:) Well, it�s the same decision I�d make but I�m unconventional too. Look, you�re one of the smartest people in the world and they�ve proven that. (Okay, she�s exaggerating there, and I have no idea who �they� are and what �proof� they have, but why argue?) I mean, you DO know that, right?

(CI:) Yeah.

(DS:) And, you have a HUGE heart. Everything you do has your heart in it, and it�s genuine. Certainly you know that right?

(CI:) Sure.

(DS:) So if you�re fine with your decision, you�re super smart and you�re staying true to your heart, how could your decision be anything but right?

That�s wisdom there. Of course, I�ve made some pretty stupid decisions, and I continue to, but the key word there is �stupid�. My best decisions always contain that balance � I�m fine with it, I�ve thought it out and I�ve followed my heart. My worst ones are missing at least one or two of those things.

And, some of my best decisions do appear to be wacky, at least, to other people. But, that�s because they haven�t lived my life and don�t know the dynamics of everything and everyone involved.

Anyway, as always, it was great to talk to Dearest Sister.


We had a little excitement at work today. Everyone was working and stuff and suddenly there was a slight burning smell. People instantly called for help because they were fearful flames were going to shoot out of the wall (it�s happened before), or sparks were going to come flying out of light fixtures in the ceiling (it�s happened before).

When help arrived, they scouted around. When they came to me, I told them it smelled exactly like someone had lit a match. It smelled like a little sulfur.

Instantly, another colleague exclaimed, �Oh, that was me!� Apparently, she had on a new pair of shoes and something inside the shoe was bothering her foot (extra stitching or something), so she struck a match and burned that part off.

They�re an excitable bunch, I tell you.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003