9:31 p.m. | 2003-04-10

My Friends (aka, Those Bastards).

Today, Colleague had plans for lunch and Boss needed to finish up a report, so I went and grabbed something to eat at my desk while working.

When I got back to MyWorkPlace, this happened.

(Security Guard:) Did you see BFB as you were coming in?

(CI:) No. Was he here?

(SG:) Yeah, he stopped by to pick up Colleague for lunch.

(CI:) What?! That bastard! Colleague told me he had plans but he didn�t tell me they were with BFB.

(SG:) He�s going to lunch with BFB and Guyfriend. Guess where they�re going?

(CI:) TheBestLocalDive?

(SG:) No. TheBestPizzaJoint.

(CI:) What?! Those Bastards! I can�t believe they didn�t invite me!

I wandered back to my desk, dug around for BFB�s cell phone number and called him. This is that.

(BFB:) This is BFB.

(CI:) You bastard! You guys are so mean to me! I can�t believe you all went to lunch together and didn�t invite me! Especially since you�re at the TheBestPizzaJoint!

(BFB:) Here Colleague, it�s for you. (Hands his phone to Colleague.)

(C:) Hello, this is Colleague.

(CI:) You bastard! You guys are so mean to me! I can�t believe you all went to lunch together and didn�t invite me! Especially when you�re at TheBestPizzaJoint!

(C:) It�s not like I didn�t invite you� I was an invitee.

(CI:) I can�t believe you guys would do this! If any of you ever run for any office ever again, I�m not walking [the precincts] for any of you. Ever.

(C:) (Talking to BFB.) She said that if we ever run for any office, she�s never walking for us again. (To me.) Where�s Boss? Aren�t you having lunch with her?

(CI:) No, I�m not. She�s eating at her desk because she�s working on the report and I�m eating at my desk all by myself while you guys are sitting around eating together at TheBestPizzaJoint. You better bring me back some pizza!

Turns out, as I suspected, that BFB and GuyFriend arranged lunch with Colleague because he had some information they needed. But please, they went to TheBestPizzaJoint without me! I did get my promised piece of great pizza but they�re still bastards.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003