7:40 p.m. | 2003-06-01

I Swear My House Is Made Of Dust Fashioned To Look Like Wood.

Good lord, the dust bunnies multiply as I clean them up. Prolific little bastards that they are and all. However, my house is looking good. Just have to tackle my office and then I can officially end my Spring-turning-Summer cleaning.

And shit, it was hot enough to melt Paige�s glue sticks today. I�d say somewhere in the 100s. I need an IV just to re-hydrate. It�s not like I don�t diligently carry a glass of water around with me while I�m cleaning. I do. I just forget to drink it.

I do have to say, that as boring as cleaning is, it does free my mind to wander, well, where ever. When I clean, odd words come to my mind like I�m channeling someone or receiving some divine message. Words like �alchemy�, �sandblasting� and �kitschy�.

I don�t know why �alchemy� came to my mind, but it often does while I�m cleaning. Maybe it comes to mind because I�m transforming a pile of dust into a home of wood. I think �sandblasting� came to mind because they guy who cleaned off my roof blasted some of my groundcover away. Far away.

I know why I was thought �kitschy�. See, I�m teaching myself to draw and it�s not a skill I�ve ever excelled at, for sure. I was looking at the last picture I drew � which was some time ago � and thought: �well, it�s kind of kitschy if nothing else�. Mind you, it�s obviously done by an amateur, but it�s charming in a way. Kind of like the same way kid art is.


I know I certainly got a workout today. I�m all flared up and in lots of pain. So, I gotta go recuperate. And, re-hydrate. Exciting, I know.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003