10:28 p.m. | 2003-06-02

The Intern Dilemma.

I forgot our new intern was starting today. Hence, the beginning of the �intern dilemma�. We get interns when we�re super busy because we need assistance. However, interns come to us to learn shit, so we have to train them when we don�t have time to do such stuff. By the way, I�m using the term �we� loosely. It actually means that �I� have to train him.

So the game begins. It�s difficult to train someone when you�re super busy, but you never want an intern, who�s working for free, to get bored, not have anything to do and/or not learn anything. An internship can be a jump-start to a career, if it�s done correctly.

On top of that, our intern is not from MyTown and attends college in a different state, so he doesn�t even know how to get around. So to speak.

I spent today trying to get him set up � ID, keycard, phone, voicemail, email, etc., while keeping him entertained yet not overwhelmed. Needless to say, I didn�t get much of MY work done. And, I had to make some �executive� decisions. Here�s that.

(CI:) Hey, Boss. I was looking for you but couldn�t find you so I made some decisions totally without your authority.

(B:) Good lord, what did you do now?

(CI:) I�ve ordered up a phone, voicemail box and email address for Intern. I tried to get a squawk box too, but his space isn�t wired up for it, so I�ll show him how to access that shit on the internet.

(B:) Oh, that�s fine. You know, he needs the proper tools and all.

Which, of course, was apparent when I asked him to call someone and he pointed out that he didn�t have a phone.

And, he�s so cute. I mean, he is good looking and all, but he�s in his early 20�s so he�s just really cute to me. If you don�t understand what I mean, you will in 10 years or so. Anyway, I spent all day dealing with all that.


Tonight, I�m been resting while watching the Golden Girls special. I remember watching that show when it first aired and I do watch reruns. That�s some great writing there. Shoot, I remember Bea Arthur from �Maude� and Betty White from �The Mary Tyler Moore Show�. Both great shows also. Sorry, just tripping down memory lane there.


Well, I�ve got to put my feet up again (they�re swollen) and rest my hands, so I�m off to watch DIY (�Do it Yourself�) Surgery. That should be interesting. Albeit, not something I�ll be doing anytime soon. At least, I hope not.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003