7:52 p.m. | 2003-06-06

Yeah, BABEE! In Like Flynn!

Monday, I sign my papers for my new DREAMSPACE! Yay me! In less than a month from now, I�ll be updating from my new place!


Holy FUCKING Shit, Batman! What the hell am I doing?! Oh, who cares, I�m deliriously happy! My mind is going a million miles per hour and I really need to make up a moving checklist, but for now, I just want to revel in me acting totally spontaneously and completely following my gut, heart and soul. Fuck ruminating endlessly before making a change!

I�ve moved all my life. I know how to do this. It�ll all come together. And, it�s going to be sooo COOL!

This time, I decided not to alienate all my friends by asking them to help me move. I�ve already booked a moving company. They�re not the cheapest in town, but they do a damn fine job. They moved an office I worked in several years ago and I was quite impressed with their work.

Besides, I have a tricky staircase here and a tricky staircase/small elevator over there, so it�s just best if I go with professionals. (I certainly don�t need my buddies damaging this place, that place or my antique furniture like they did last time.) Which means that I have to empty all my furniture too � no moving dressers full of clothes and such like I usually do.

Emptying everything will just facilitate the purging process. And, fortunately for me, I�m feeling particularly ruthless about hanging onto stuff right now. Shit, I�m already chucking stuff without a care in the world. The local thrift stores are about to get a big windfall along with the trash truck.


I�m changing my decorating style too. From what to what, I don�t know yet. I�m gonna buy a new recliner and love seat, so that�ll probably give me some direction. All I know is that my new dreamspace is going to be a soothing, peaceful oasis that�s pleasing to the senses, easy to maintain and sleek. I think it�s gonna have a little Vern in it, and I�m sure it�ll have a smidgeon of the unexpected too. Because I�m a little wacky that way.

You know, I could always just ask Boss because I know she�s already mentally decorated it.


In other news, I took my car for an oil change after work today. And, I got to deal with a very cute young woman instead of a cute young man. That actually worked much better for me because there was less hard sell of periphery stuff and NO LECTURES!! That was, by far, the best part of it. Oh wait, the best part was that she solved my mysterious radiator problem immediately. And, get this, it was a $10 fix. She was just too cute. Here�s that.

(Cute Youngster:) This (showing me my air filter), is supposed to be white.

(CI:) (Embarrassed.) Yes, I realize that. (I haven�t changed it in a while; it was pretty much black.)

(Cute Youngster:) Would you like to replace it?

(CI:) Uh, yes please. It�s been a while. Obviously.

I love it when I get those pesky chores done. I hit the place right at a good time too. I was in and out of there in 15 minutes. The cashier cracked me up when she thanked me for stopping by and told me my car was �waiting down the hall�.


Oh, and there was a little confusion when I left a message for the Hotel Manager requesting a status on my dreamspace today. This is that.

(CI:) Good Afternoon, MyWorkPlace, this is Cruel-Irony.

(HM:) Hi, this is the Hotel Manager. You left a message requesting a status?

(CI:) Yes, I was wondering if everything had been processed.

(HM:) Well, what exactly are you referring to? I have processed everything for someone named Cruel-Irony, but I don�t recall having a file on Smuel-Irony.

(CI:) (Laughing.) This IS Cruel-Irony. Smuel-Irony is my evil twin sister.

(HM:) (Laughing.) Oh, I�m sorry, it sounded like you said Smuel-Irony on my message and I was racking my brain trying to remember who Smuel-Irony was. Okay, you wanted a status?

(CI:) Yeah, I booked the movers this morning and then I realized that I hadn�t received a final approval from you so I figured that I better check and make sure everything�s okay.

(HM:) Oh, everything�s just fine. We�re holding this unit (my first choice) for you. I just need you to sign the final papers. I�m sorry, I guess I forgot to call you. Can you move in right now?

(CI:) Well, um, no. See, I need to pack up my house and get rid of some furniture, appliances and stuff before I can move in.

(HM:) Oh, you must have a lot of stuff. Okay. Can you come in Monday and do the paperwork?

(CI:) Sure.

Granted, I don�t have a ton of stuff, but you know, the stuff I do have doesn�t quite fit in a backpack. Albeit, I wish it was that easy sometimes. And, of course, I have that silly little day job that pays for all this.


For crying out loud, what am I still doing here?! I gotta go. My dreamspace is waiting for me. I think I need to work on my annunciation while I purge stuff. I do have a tendency to mumble. �Smuel-Irony�. Heh.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003