11:56 p.m. | 2003-06-14

Geez Louise! Where Did All This Crap Come From?

I�ve been busy getting rid of stuff. You�d be amazed at the amount of crap I�ve been able to shove into my little home. I know you would be, because I am. So, the purging process is well under way.

So far, I have almost 13 bags of clothing that�ll be donated. I hope someone has a penchant for leg warmers straight from the 80�s. You know, I went through my clothes 10 years ago, and I thought I donated a lot of this stuff. Imagine my surprise upon realizing that I thought I couldn�t part with that stuff back then. It�s not like I�ve worn any of it in the last decade. Thank god. Seriously, I was quite embarrassed by the crap I�ve hung on to.

Oh lord, and knick-knacks? Why, oh why have I carted all this stuff around and stored it for years? And, lets just talk about baskets for a moment. I figured that I had one 30-gallon bag worth of baskets. Okay, I was half right. I had two bags full. Heh. I donated those to the folks down the street with the aviary because birds LOVE to shred baskets. This is that.

(CI:) Hi, how�s the renovation going?

(English Guy from Africa � EGFA:) Good. I�ve got quite a bit done. Did you find a home for your birds?

(CI:) Yes, fortunately I did. A good home.

(EGFA:) That worked out then? Are you off soon? (Noticing my confusion.) Are you going to move then?

(CI:) Yes. Actually, that�s why I stopped by. I�m getting rid of a bunch of stuff and I wanted to know if you guys wanted some baskets for the aviary.

(EGFA:) Oh sure. Sure. They love to chew baskets. That�s good because they don�t chew the walls (of the aviary) then. Sure, we�d love to take your baskets. Would you like me to come get them?

(CI:) No. No, I�ll bring them to you. But I have a lot. Like a big garbage bag full, I think. Do you want me to bring you all of them, or is that too much?

(EGFA:) Yes, bring all of them. They really love to chew those things.

(CI:) Okay, I�ll go get them and bring �em over.

They happily took them all. In fact, EGFA�s wife said she�d been meaning to go buy some so they were really thrilled about my aviary donation. They think I�d be better suited to Downtown also, you know, because I�m single. There�s a lot more going on in my new hood than my current one and all.

You know, it�s a strange thing when you can actually feel people living vicariously through yourself. It�s energizing too. This move is definitely different. Every time I tell someone about my new dreamspace, I can �see� people thinking, �wow, that�d be so cool�. I think there are a lot of �Eloises� out there.

Anyway, somehow my anti-pack-rat gene has appeared. In other words, I think I need a dumpster. And, it feels really, really good to let go of all this crap.

I thought I might have an extra black garbage bag to take to My Favorite European Antique Shop for their homeless man. However, that was some crooked thinking there.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003