10:18 p.m. | 2003-06-19

I Hate Those Reverse Punt Moves.

Today was a busy day. Non-stop writing in the morning, group lunch followed by several phones calls and then two meetings back-to-back. Of course, in the last meeting of the day, I found out that a couple of things I�d punted somewhere else apparently have ricocheted back to me.

Please wait while I contain my glee.

Okay, so I�ll be writing up some rather tricky analyses very soon. I must have been temporarily insane when I decided to move right in the middle of our crazy-busy season. I mean, really, what the hell was I thinking? I AM my worst enemy. Gah.


That said, I�m still very excited about moving. And, frankly yes, that is all I want to talk about. But, I�ll give it a rest for now.


I came home exhausted. In the back of my mind � back in the far, and scary, recesses � I knew �something� exciting was supposed to transpire tonight, but for the life of me, I just couldn�t remember what it was. That�s what meetings, even productive ones, do to you. They erase your brain.

Then the phone rang and the light bulb in my head went on. One of my dearest friends was supposed to call me. And, she did. We talked for a long time and it did wonders to restore my energy. And my spirit. I so love my girlfriends. They�re just too cool.


At lunch, Another Colleague (AC) was telling us about how she was putting her pool cover on her pool recently. She was walking backwards when suddenly she stepped back right into the deep end. Of course, it was early in the morning, she was fully dressed for the day, and had both sets of her keys in her pockets. She managed to slice up her inner thigh, become completely immersed and lose her keys to the bottom of the pool. This is that.

(Boss:) Thank god you didn�t hit your head! (Everyone at the table agreed immediately except Intern. I mean, he agreed in principle but he�s too young to really �get� that.)

(AC:) Actually, that�s the first thing I said. �Thank god I didn�t hit my head�. There I was, fully dressed, floating in the deep end with my keys sitting on the bottom of my pool but I was just really grateful that I didn�t hit my head.

See, when you�re young, you have that whole �invincible� thing going on. When you get older, you realize just how dangerous things can be. Like my car accident last year. I remember seeing the car running the stop sign and I remember thinking �Shit! She�s gonna hit me� right before the impact. Once I got my car under control and took a look at the damage, all I could think was �Thank god I was speeding or she would�ve hit me right in the driver�s door.�

I�m not suggesting that speeding is a good thing, mind you, it just worked out well for me in that situation. You know, because I�m not a scofflaw at all.

Why are you all looking at me like THAT? I�m all about respecting the speed limit. It�s just a random gene gone wrong I tell you. I got it from my dad. And, if you remember, he didn�t die in a car accident. I�m just saying.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003