9:20 p.m. | 2003-06-18

My Division Went On Display Today. Much Like Animals At The Zoo.

This morning, I ran into Diva Hair who promptly informed me that �my husband� was coming to the office today. Of course, she was referring to MyHero. Then, Boss called me while she was walking to the office and asked me if �my boyfriend� was bald. After I confirmed that he was, he told me that she ran into him on her way in. See, my friends look out for me.

And yes, MyHero is bald. In fact, he�s a middle-aged bald guy though he doesn�t sport a gut. He�s actually in great physical shape. I mean, he looks like he is. Since our relationship, if you will, only exists in my head, I don�t have any personal knowledge of such matters. Actually, our relationship is rather simple. We see each other at the office about twice a year. I stammer �hi� and smile, he shakes my hand and says �hi� back, and then we go our separate ways. See� no muss, no fuss. Pretty much all my crushes work that way.

Well, except for The Voice. However, I�m only in love with TV�s (ironic initials there) voice, which is good since I actually have to work with him on a regular basis. We actually have conversations which facilitates my crush, so that all works well. And, to give him credit, he�s also a very handsome man.

I think that�s enough talk about �my men�. We can move along now.


Anyway, you may remember from yesterday that the presence of our Division was requested at the meeting MyHero was conducting today. At the appointed time, we snuck in the back door. When HeadHoncho called us forward, we crept to middle of the room. Really, we�re backstage kind of people, not �on stage� folks. We just quietly do our work and ditch the spotlight as much as possible.

We recognized most, if not all of the people at the meeting, by names or faces, but they don�t know us from Adam. (No offense to Adam.) We like it that way. Boss introduced us all, briefly explained what we do and asked if there were any questions. Because they didn�t even know we existed, there weren�t many questions.

Then HeadHoncho told everyone what a great job we do, that we carry a very heavy workload and we should be lauded. Or something. We just hightailed it out of there as soon as we could. And went back into hiding.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that Boss sent Intern to the meeting when it started because she thought he might find it interesting. He left when we did. I asked him later if he found it interesting or learned anything. Intern said he did find it interesting, but he had no idea what they were talking about most of the time.


At lunch, I conned Intern into dropping by The Hotel to see my new dreamspace and take care of some paperwork. Actually I just asked him if he wanted to go on a field trip; he immediately said yes. I mean, who doesn�t want to go on a field trip? He now understands that I use the term �field trip� very broadly, so either he really wants to go or he�s afraid to say no. Since he works for free and he voluntarily works way more hours than he has to, I�d guess that he�s not afraid to say no.

Anyway, he thought my dreamspace was really cool. He also helped me measure space here and there so I could get more of an idea of how it�s all going to look/work when I actually get my furniture moved in. And, he had some great ideas too.

Oh, and I already have some interesting Hotel news. There are four units in the section that I�m in. I think I might have neglected to mention that many of the residents are Very Important People (VIPs). However, most of them only live there on a part-time basis during the week. They spend the rest of their time living in their actual homes in other cities. These VIPs have regular business to attend to in MyTown hence their need for a semi-permanent, part-time living space.

Anyway, the unit to the right of me is occupied by a part-time VIP. There is no unit to my left as that space contains an outside stairwell. Today, new tenants were moving into both of the units across the hall from my place. It�s actually a business that will occupy both spaces which are now connected to each other. Hence, the evenings and weekends are going to be quite peaceful in my section since I�ll pretty much be the only one there.

And, get this, the gentlemen that lives above me, The Doctor (Phd doctor, not MD doctor), is a historian who�s retired but does work pertaining to historical archives! Yawn all you want, but that is super exciting to me since I�m a history buff. On our way out, The Doctor was on his way in so the Hotel Manager introduced us. He was thrilled to find out that I�m interested in history and wanted to know when I was moving in.

I have a feeling this is going to be the most interesting move I�ve ever made. And, I�m not kidding when I tell you that my dreamspace is small. Here�s that.

(CI:) Hey Intern, check out my closet. Isn�t it great?!

(I:) Um, yeah. (He�s young and it�s just a closet hence the lack of excitement.)

(CI:) Remember Intern, this is the ONLY closet in my dreamspace.

(I:) (Looking at it more closely.) Yeah, it IS cool.

See, it�s all about perspective.


Okay, for the few people who participated in my unsurvey survey (previous entry), I told you I�d let you know what BG and I would do. Like ginja-puds, tuff517 and deeranged, both BG and I would reschedule. Here are BG�s thoughts � without her permission even. Heh.

(BG:) I told her that I�d reschedule because that�d just be right. Plus, I told her that I�ve skipped out on my girlfriends in the past just to do something with a date/boyfriend, and I�ve learned that good friends can last forever � if you treat them right � while people that you date may come and go. I feel bad about some of the times I let my girlfriends down for a date, and the date didn�t even work out.

My thoughts.

(CI:) Of course, I�d reschedule. That kind of tragic situation is serious. Really serious. To lose a PARENT to SUICIDE? See that�s some heavy shit. Now, if my roommate really wanted to be alone for real, I�d leave or go to my room or something. I would respect privacy but be on call for support. I was kind of glad I was alone when I found out my dad died because I don�t like to cry in front of people. And, I cried a lot. Yet, it would have been nice to have someone there for the moments when I wasn�t sobbing my heart out, ya know? Plus, it�s just not appropriate. If you�re going on a first date and it works out great, you can�t come home and hide that kind of �first date glow�. Even if you don�t talk about it, it�d be obvious. If she did go on the date, she shouldn�t mention a word about it, yet chicks like to share all that stuff. So, it�d be better if she just skipped it all together.

And, deeranged pointed out something I didn�t even think of. She mentioned that a date might be difficult if all you could think of was your roommate�s loss. (I hope it�s okay that I paraphrased you Deeranged. And, that I didn�t even do it well.) That would so be me. I forgot about that side of it. I�d be so concerned that I wouldn�t even enjoy my date and would want to be checking on my roommate regularly.

Thanks for participating in my unsurvey, survey. As usual, I gained insight from other points of view. The sad part is that I don�t actually know what happened. I�ll have to call BG to find out. But, I thought it was an interesting, albeit complicated, situation. And shoot, I don�t even know the roommate and I�m concerned about her. That�s a life-altering kind of thing there. I hope she�s �okay�.


Again, I had a rather interesting conversation with Intern. Except this time, I was the confounding participant. We were at my dreamspace at the time and I had armed him with my baby blue (gag) �do-it-herself� tape measure. (�Do-it-Herself� tools are great because they�re so girly men don�t touch them hence you never lose them. Different subject, sorry.)

(I:) How tall is the furniture you�re going to put here?

(CI:) Five feet. Heh. As tall as me so as tall as this (I stand against the wall). Hey wait, I don�t really have any concept of my height and I can�t see me, so can you measure that out for me so I can see how tall that is?

(I:) (Wielding my baby-blue tape measure like �a man�.) Sure. It�s this tall.

(CI:) Cool. That�s perfect. It�s not too tall to block the light but tall enough to make my faux wall.

(I:) You know, I really like that idea. (I�m putting two same-size pieces of furniture back-to-back to make a partial wall due to the lack of wall space.)

(CI:) Well, it was an idea born out of necessity since I�m down to either functional or family heirloom antique furniture. That makes a person creative.

(I:) I just think it�s cool.

Again, I must say that it�s a dangerous thing to work for me for free. Remember that.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003