| 2003-07-04

July Fourth. With Fireworks And Everything.

Well, my former residence is all sparkly clean now. It only took me about 6� hours to clean it. I was happy to put that behind me. And, obviously my phone problem was also fixed. Yippy Skippy on all that.


I also stopped by the local hardware store and purchased a female splice, which mates two male coax cables. I got cable TV out of that particular mating incidence. See, more exciting.


I was sitting at my desk tonight, catching up on my diary/journal reading when I heard firecrackers go off. Then, as I listened more carefully, I realized that it was actual fireworks that I was hearing. They sounded close. All of a sudden, I remembered that OldTown celebrates the Fourth with fireworks, and OldTown is Downtown.

Instantly, I logged off, grabbed my keys, stepped into sandals and headed for the Hotel door. When I walked out into the street, I could see the firework show. There were other Downtown residents that had stepped out to see the pretty, sparkly display. We crossed the street to the MyPark and found a perfect viewing spot.

See now, that�s one of the cool things about living Downtown. You�re right in the middle of the action. As I�m writing this, I�m listening to a young man talking on his cell phone outside. First, he called someone in regards to his paycheck and overtime hours worked, then he received a call to go pick up his girlfriend who was at a bar and too drunk to get home by herself.

There�s always something happening outside, but it�s remarkably calm inside. The walls are so thick, I can�t hear any of my neighbors and it gets so quiet at night that, when someone does talk, it�s noticeable. Well, with the windows open. Not so much with �em closed. Then I only hear big noises like sirens or fireworks.


It was one month ago that I looked at my Dreamspace and now, I�m here. It�s suiting me very well. I�m sooo loving this place. Not that I didn�t like my last home, it�s just that this is the place I want to be. And, well, here I am.

See, that�s very cool.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003