| 2003-07-03

See, I Knew This Was My Dreamspace.

After a very long day of moving, I hopped into the shower.

HOLY FUCKING SHIT!!

I have the most stupendous water pressure that ever existed. Since old buildings have small pipes, they usually don�t have great pressure. But, not so in my Dreamspace. My shower blasted me to the back wall. It was fucking GREAT!

My muscles were so shocked that, at first, they bunched all up like a group of scared tourists on the subway. But then. Then, they quickly all started doing happy dances. It felt like my muscles were giggling with glee.

About halfway through, I suddenly realized that the tub was filling up quickly. In all my excitement, I forgot to open the drain. Duh. I actually had to turn the shower off and let the tub drain before I continued. Which was okay because, frankly, I needed a moment to recover from this pleasant surprise.

Of course, I stepped out of tub and into a huge puddle of water. I didn�t care though, because that was one of the best damn showers I�ve ever had.

I can�t wait to take a bath tomorrow! Since I didn�t have a tub, I haven�t really taken a bath in over 3 years. Well, you know what I mean.


Lets back up a bit though.

I helped the movers move me. With all three of us busting our butts, it took 6� hours to complete the move. A very lllooonngg 6� hours. Two guys, Frank and Mike, unloaded my former residence. Frank was absolutely a blast! We worked well together and delivered stuff to Mike in the truck. Here�s some of that.

(Frank:) You really know what you�re doing and you�re a great helper. Have you ever considered becoming a mover?

(CI:) What�d mean �becoming a mover�?! I am a mover; I just never get paid to do it.

(Frank:) You�re great at it.

(CI:) Well, I�ve had a lot of practice.

Of course, I ignored the obvious fact that I can�t lift a damn thing and Frank was carrying large pieces of furniture, above his head even, straight out to the truck. He was really a lot of fun. He was constantly laughing and joking. In fact, we were busting each other up. Mike, however, was rather stiff and looked at us both sternly several times. We didn�t let that stop us though.

A great thing about Frank is that he�s loves moving stuff, and has been a professional mover since he was 18. And, he�s probably the best mover I�ve ever seen and he absolutely LOVES it. See what happens when you follow your heart?

Soon after they arrived, Frank pointed out that I was very efficient. And, I am. I�m also in love with every timepiece in the world. I just HAVE to know what time it is. However, my watch stopped ticking this morning. Very inconvenient, no? As a consequence, I suddenly became very attached to my smallest wall clock and kept a close eye on it. So we both had to laugh when this happened when they were getting ready to climb in the truck and I was walking out to my car.

(Mike:) Excuse me ma�am, do you know what time it is?

(CI:) (Looking at the clock I was carrying and showing it to him.) Yeah, it�s 11:00am.

(Mike:) Thanks.

Frank and I both giggled; it went right over Mike�s head. Anyway, having a little fun certainly made the move more enjoyable.

Then we were off to load up my Dreamspace. Not a simple task there. In fact they had to get another mover on the job. They had to park in the street, tackle two flights of stairs to get in the building and then load up the single-use lift, unload it and move it to my Dreamspace. Frank fucking wore the hell out of that little lift. In fact, he broke it and the HotelHandyman had to come fix it. Fortunately, that happened towards the very end, so they didn�t have to carry that much up the stairs inside the building.

At some point, Mike and Frank switched places because it was probably over 100 degrees today and Mike was melting in the truck. I had the air conditioning blasting and Mike had to work in the building for awhile so he didn�t keel over from heat stroke. He�s very nice, very professional and he�s very serious.

However, we did have a funny moment when he moved an empty wardrobe box and he accidentally wacked me with it. This is that.

(Mike:) (Noticing my movement out of the corner of his eye.) Did I just hit you with the wardrobe?

(CI:) Uh, yeah.

(Mike:) Did I almost knock you over?

(CI:) Yeah.

(Mike:) I�m sorry, you�re so little I didn�t see you behind the box.

(CI:) I just can�t believe you almost knocked me over with an empty box.

We also had this moment when unloading another wardrobe box they had filled with some of my smaller boxes.

(Mike:) And, where do you want this to go? (Handing me a box.)

(CI:) OH MY GAWD! This is an empty box!

(Mike:) Yes, ma�am.

(CI:) I moved an empty box?! I. MOVED. AN. EMPTY. BOX. You should of just shot me. I can�t believe I did that. Why didn�t you say something?

(Mike:) I thought you wanted it moved, ma�am.

(CI:) I moved an empty box. What could be more pathetic than that?!

Anyway, it cost me some bucks for them to move me, but it was worth every single penny. And, then some.


After they left, I quickly hooked up my computer, phone and answering machine as they�re all somehow connected or some shit. My phone was dead this morning in my former residence, so I presumed they had transferred the service here. However, I was wrong. I kept checking it and trying to figure out what to do when it dawned on me that I could just walk over to work and call the telephone folks to see what was up.

So, I did just that. Yeah, I went to the office during working hours with my hair in a ponytail, wearing my rather dusty overall shorts (which are too big), after spending hours doing hard physical labor. I think I might have had some spider webs hanging off me somewhere too.

Boss told me that her and Colleague wanted to drop by and see how everything was going but they figured that they should just leave me alone while I was moving. They were happy to see me though. You KNOW she just can�t wait to come over. She loves my Dreamspace.

Anyway, long story short in regards to my phone service � something�s wrong with my phone line so a service person is coming over tomorrow some where between 8:00am and Noon. I hope they fix it quickly. See, I need a cable adapter in order to connect an extension to my cable from my office into the livingroom. HotelHandyman gave me the extension cable and I checked two stores for the adapter tonight without any luck.

What am I rambling about? Oh yeah, at the moment I don�t have a phone line, internet access or any TV reception at all. I was feeling so seriously disconnected from life that I turned on the radio. Hopefully, I can get all this fixed tomorrow.


Here are some random but cool things about my Dreamspace. My office is in the back part of the random open space that you see when you enter. Out of necessity and desire, I placed my big bookcase and my antique buffet back-to-back in the 7� foot opening between the livingroom and office which divides the space into two areas. It also limits the view from the front door to the livingroom. My office is kind of like my �fort�. Albeit, it still has a 2� foot entry area.

In addition to the many boxes of books, my office has the bookcase, desk, telephone stand, and the diningroom table and chairs. (Or my conference table and chairs � however you want to look at it.) My living room contains a built-in china cabinet/hutch-like thing, my antique buffet, TV, a small bookcase and well, tons of boxes. Once I get some stuff cleared out though, it�ll contain my 1930�s art deco sofa and chairs.

Okay. So, I want to talk about my office okay? The wall opposite the front door � and now opposite the bookcase, is all paned window except for about a foot at the top and three feet on the bottom. Oh yeah, and I have extra high ceilings. I don�t know exactly how high they are, but you�d need a ladder to change a light bulb, even if you�re tall.

The lower part of that wall houses my air conditioner (which RAWKS) and oddly, a 2� by 2� foot square window which opens. Okay. This window is way cool because I can open it, get fresh air, watch people walking about below and easily overhear people talking. Right up there with people watching is people �hearing�. Well, at least for me. I love to listen to random snippets of conversation.

I also have enough room now to stretch out. Currently, I have my feet up, the keyboard resting on my raised knees and I�m leaning back in my chair. See, before I didn�t even have enough room to lean against the back of my chair as it goes back pretty far. This is perfect! And look at how I can just prattle on and on, now that I�m comfortable.

I also found out how to sneak in and out of the building using the outside staircase. Not that I have a reason to be sneaking around, it�s just good to know that I can. It�s also a short cut to the trash and to my car.


Tomorrow, after the phone person comes by, I�m going back to my former residence to clean. Yuk. Hopefully that�ll go well and it won�t be too hot. But, you know it will be.

Lord, I am gonna sleep well tonight!

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003