8:33 p.m. | 2003-07-09

Mrs. Hwiggins, At Your Service.

Some of you may remember Mrs. Wiggins from the Carol Burnett Show. She was a secretary. Only Tim Conway, as the elderly boss, always pronounced her name Hwiggins. Man, I miss that show. That bunch was a deadly comedic combination.


Anyway, Intern and I played secretary all day today. No sexual innuendo intended. AT ALL. We spent all day making files, filing files and filing papers in yet more files. And, in binders.

Our division actually has a secretary (S) but she�s only scheduled to come in a couple of days a week and well, she doesn�t always come in on those days. Or any other days. So, all that work piled up and we were having a lot of trouble finding things, etc.

It�s quite a relief to have that all caught up because now I can find my files and I actually have some files to put all my paperwork in. S taught Intern how to make up files while I was busy doing something else. Eventually, he came to me with an inquiry. Here�s that.

(I:) Cruel-Irony, do I really have to type up these labels?

(CI:) (Laughing.) No, I�ll take care of that part. Have you ever even used a typewriter before?

(I:) I think I did. Once. When I was four.

(CI:) Oh dear lord, those days were something else. I used to type up my term papers on a manual typewriter that didn�t have a correction key, so if I made a mistake on a page, I had to retype the whole thing. It was just miserable.

(I:) You typed up term papers on a typewriter?! (Looking at me like he would a dinosaur.)

(CI:) Well, yes, of course. Back in the day and all. We even had to use typewriters at work and everything.

(I:) Wow! That must�ve sucked.

(CI:) Hell, it was better than writing all damn day.

(I:) I�d rather write.

Yeah, I�d like to see him �write� an analysis. Or even a letter, for that matter.


Tonight I�m doing my laundry for the first time at TheHotel. I can�t remember the last time I�ve used coin-op laundry �room� as I�ve owned my own washer and dryer for so long. I actually tried to donate mine to TheHotel, but there was some issue about switching them to coin-op machines, so they didn�t come with me.

Now I�m back to hoarding quarters like they�re the most precious coins in the world. I need to remember to drop by MyBank and buy a roll.

Anyway, there�s one washer and one dryer in the basement. Doing my laundry in the basement of TheHotel makes me feel like I�m in some cool sitcom or something. It�s interesting what my priorities are also. I�m sure some folks think I�m nuts for giving up some of the amenities I had to move here, but so far, I�m fine with it all. Of course, I miss my birds, but they�re happy so I�m okay with that.

I really thought I�d miss my yard and garden, but so far I haven�t. The park�s right across the street, I can garden on the porch and watering is considerably easier now. It�d be nice to have a balcony but I can easily go outside and I can hang out on the staircase if I really want to. Actually, I find myself talking several short walks, each time checking out a new area of my neighborhood. And, of course, later I�ll go outside to catch up with my new buddies Carl and Alex. There�s nothing like hanging on the street at night with a couple of rebellious senior citizens.

And earlier, I took a walk to a corner market nearby and introduced myself to the shopkeeper, checked out what they have and found out when they�re open. It�s always good to know there�s a store nearby if I need something on the fly.

So far, everyone is incredibly friendly.


Well, I�ve got all my Christmas presents and the graduation gift wrapped. I need to buy some wrapping paper for Little Nephew�s present � a T-Ball set. I think it�ll take a whole roll of paper and I only have pieces.

Oh, and if anyone has any great ideas for an appetizer that�s quick, easy and can travel in the car for 2 hours (in an ice chest, if needed), please, please, please feel free to let me know. I have a couple of ideas, but you guys probably have better ideas. So share away.


Quip of the Day.

(CI:) Where do you work?

(Woman:) I work for the City of the City of MyState.

(CI:) But do you work for the City of the City of MyState, or the City of MyState Police Department?

(Woman:) I work for the City Manager of the City of MyState. However, the Police Department seems to think I work for them.

(CI:) I see. Is the City of MyState a small town perchance?

(Woman:) Why yes, it is a very small town.

(CI:) This is all starting to make sense to me now. Okay then, we can pretend you work for the City of MyState Police Department if that�ll work better for you.

(Woman:) Great, because I�ll probably end up doing most of the work on this anyway.

(CI:) Alrighty then, you're now the honorary "middle man".

(Woman:) Super. (Heavy sigh.)

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003