12:51 a.m. | 2003-07-14

Inquiring Minds Want To Know.

Several of you wanted to know what my magical plant is, so I spent some time earlier today doing a little research. It�s a resurrection plant. You can buy one here for �2.50.

Just for the record, after a few tries on the internet, I pulled out my Exotic Plant Manual and found it almost immediately. According to my manual, it requires 1,000-3,000 footcandles of light. According to Webster�s Dictionary, a footcandle is �a unit of illuminance on a surface that is everywhere one foot from a uniform point source of light of one candle and equal to one lumen per square foot�. In other words, it likes partial shade and diffused sunlight.

I like the word �footcandle�. I think it needs to be dusted off and thrown back into common use along with �fortnight�. My Favorite European Antique Store agrees with me, about fortnight anyway, as evidenced by this paragraph in my weekly newsletter.

By the way, one of the English words that never made it over here is the word "fortnight". It is a common English word meaning "two weeks". People in the UK will go for a fortnights holiday and will take delivery in a fortnight's time. It derives from the squashing of two words - fourteen nights - another piece of useless information.

Lets start a campaign to SAVE THE WORDS.


Obviously, it�s late and I�m tired. By the way, my resurrection plant is already turning green. Yay! Oh, and I found my camera, but the batteries are dead. Argh. Foiled again. And, since I�m stringing together random thoughts, Christmas is on Saturday. SATURDAY?!

Uh, I gotta get to bed.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003