10:19 p.m. | 2003-07-12

My Magical Plant.

When I was packing, I found a dried up something stuffed in the far and dark recesses of my buffet. It took me a minute to realize that it was my magical plant. At the time, I was panic packing so I just threw it in a box. I unpacked it today.

God only knows where I bought this thing. Lay ya odds it was at some funky booth at a little festival. Well, or it could have been in some wacky yet quaint store nestled in some tiny little town in Hippy Land. I�m strangely attracted to odd things.

Anyway, it�s magical because it never dies. It just goes dormant if not supplied with water. Once, you add some H2O, it magically unfolds and turns all green again. It doesn�t require dirt or anything. Today, I placed it in this cool �Jetsons� style glass bowl that I have, added some water and it�s already pretty much unfolded. Soon it will be alive again. I�ve had my magical plant for around six years or so, but it�s been dormant for a good four years. At least.


I had brunch at The Diner today. Not much happening there. So, I came home and tackled some unpacking. I got my kitchen unpacked and box free. Yay! I had more room than I thought I would but it�s a good thing I have three step stools in there. Yeah, I�ve got everyday things placed in the upper reaches of the cabinets.

The livingroom is box free also. I unpacked many, but some I just moved to the office or bedroom. I unpacked all the china and knick-knacks. I think. I might have some more here and there. Let me just say, my livingroom is gonna be one cozy little place once I get my sofa and chairs delivered. Good thing art deco furniture runs small.

Where�s Frank the Mover when I need him? I need him to once again reassure me that everything will fit and it�ll all work out. He was really good about that.


Yesterday, I stopped by the Pretty Fountain to buy some giftwrap for Little Nephew�s birthday present. Let me just tell you all how thrilled I am to live so close � within walking distance � to the Pretty Fountain. They sell quality wrap but it�s 50% off.

While in the store, I had a little argument with myself. Fortunately, it all took place in my head, so no one was the wiser. See, I wanted to look around, but my other I kept insisting that I really didn�t need to be buying more crap. In fact, that�s the last thing I need to be doing.

So, my I�s compromised and I took a quick look around one small section. And, I came home with a mini glue gun. In addition to the giftwrap. See, I LOVE glue guns. I think. I�ve never actually used one but they seem very cool. I justified it by remembering that I did indeed have something that needs gluing.

Today, I found three more things that need gluing. Oh, the joy! I haven�t taken the glue gun out of the package yet, so obviously, I haven�t fixed anything either, but I will. Maybe tomorrow, in fact.

I feel very crafty now.


And today, I found a market that�s close to my house and kind of like a mini-grocery store. It�s got more stuff than the corner market, but it�s small compared to a regular grocery store. I�ll still have to do my bi-monthly grocery shopping somewhere else, but it�ll come in handy when I need just a couple of items.

It has a very eclectic mix of patrons. I did notice that.


I spent some time in MyPark also. I went to the pond, which was soothing, and wandered around that section of it only to discover some different paths, tree thickets and historical �landmarks� that I�ve never noticed before.

People exercise and gather in MyPark a lot. From early morning until late in the night. Surprisingly, it�s a pretty safe place too.

However, I�ve noticed that I�m starting to get a little territorial about it. See, I consider it my front yard and when I was walking home from work yesterday, I was thinking: �What are all these people doing in my yard?�

Um, yeah, okay. It�s a PUBLIC park. See, I told you I�ve been needing some sleep.


Speaking of sleep, I did sleep in today, but I could�ve slept longer. Tomorrow, I plan on sleeping for as long as I want/need to. In addition to unpacking and clearing the livingroom, I did laundry today. So, outside of a dinner date, tomorrow�s pretty open.

And, you know, it�s not like I�m gonna jump outta bed to watch TV since I still don�t have cable. Argh.

Maybe I�ll lie in bed and read. Or find my camera. I found my film, but who knows where I packed my camera. I�d like to take some pictures of TheHotel and my Dreamspace so I can share them at Christmas In July next weekend.

Can you believe Christmas is only a week away?! I need to reserve a rental car, wrap Little Nephew�s present AND get stuff for an appetizer. Oh, and find this cute picture I of Younger Sister when she was little; she looks just like Little Nephew in it.


Sitting here in my office, I just realized that I have a hardback dictionary, a paperback dictionary, MyDad�s hardback dictionary from 1959, a hardback reverse dictionary, a paperback thesaurus, and a hardback thesaurus in dictionary form.

Apparently, I have a wee penchant for words. Word.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003