9:52 p.m. | 2003-07-20

I�m Missing Some Genes.

I don�t know what I was doing when they were passing out fashion genes and whatnot, but, personally, I think I was being irrationally infused with history genes by a �mad� scientist having a manic moment. Just a guess there.

My theory was reinforced with my experiences at Christmas in July (CIJ). Every single woman there instantly told me that my outfit was �sooo cute�. And, it was. But, that was more of an accident than anything else. For two reasons. One, CIJ is the only time anyone takes a photo of me, and two, it was somewhere over 100 degrees outside with great humidity.

For the record, I was just wearing green, yellow and white plaid Capri pants and a green shirt. And, I totally don�t know how to describe clothes. I�ve learned that. I also learned about this, which took place during dinner.

(StepSisterSparkly:) Okay, I�ve told you about 10 times how cute your outfit is and you still haven�t told me where you bought it. So, I�ll just be blunt and ask you. Where�d you buy this outfit?

(CI:) Yeah. See, that kinda shit goes right over my head. I don�t know about proper �fashion etiquette�. If you want to know something like that, you�ll just have to ask me outright.

(SSP:) Well?

(CI:) Uh. Um. I believe I bought this outfit at ThisClothingStore. Did I say that right? I mean, is that the store? (Translation: Is that the name of an actual clothing store or did I just inadvertently butcher some big business� name?)

(SSP:) Uh, well, I don�t know. I wasn�t there.

(CI:) That�s the name of a clothing store, right?

(SSP:) Yeah. But we don�t have that store here.

(CI:) Well, we have that store in MyTown. (I�m just ad-libbing here. I�m pretty sure we have this store but, hell, I don�t remember that shit.)

(SSP:) I wonder if I can get that online.

(CI:) Oh, I�m sure you can. (I have no idea what I�m talking about here. Just trying to end this particular line of questioning since I have no idea what we�re talking about.)

I didn�t realize until today that I actually bought the shirt at a totally different store. I got the pants and a shirt from the same place, but I wore a different shirt with the pants. See, this is way too complicated for me.

I got up. I got dressed. There it is.


Later, I found my bearing when StepMom gave me a project. See, she has these scrapbooks and such that were MyDad�s. They need some organizing and preserving, so she asked me to do just that. Then, this happened.

(SM:) Oh, and this is your Grandfather�s diary from when he was stationed in New Zealand during World War II.

(CI:) Are you SERIOUS?!

(SM:) (Looking startled. See fashion genes, not history genes.) Yes, of course.

(CI:) I�ve been wanting to research his time there since I inherited his New Zealand driver�s license! Oh, I can�t believe it!

(SM:) Oh, by the way, I�m going to Australia and New Zealand soon.

(CI:) Take me with you! Please, please, please!!!

(SM:) Can you fit in a carry on?

(CI:) Sure.


I was serious, but alas, she wasn�t. However, I brought home a box of scrapbooks and journals of my own family history.

For anyone keeping track, that�s three boxes of history that I brought home with me. Two of someone else�s family and one of mine. Of course, I still haven�t unpacked all the boxes from the move. And, now I have a couple of historical projects. Very interesting ones.

You know, I really need to finish unpacking. Really.


Oh, and I forgot to tell you what I got for Christmas. I received rechargeable candle lights from here. They�re very cool. I don�t have to worry about fires and whatnot like I do with candles. And, they don�t burn down. They just run down and I can recharge them. They�re very sleek and Vern-like. Next thing you know, he�ll be using these candle lights. But, don�t forget, I had them first.


On another note, I found another person who loves salads as much as I do.


On a final note, my living room looks great! I just saw it in the reflection of the windows in my Dreamspace. I thought it was someone else�s living room at first.

Yeah see, I�m missing some genes.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003