8:47 p.m. | 2003-07-22

What Is Up With These Barnyard Animals?

I had to take a break yesterday because I was finally hit with all the pain that comes with moving, driving long distances and carrying heavy boxes. (Okay, 90 miles isn�t a �long way� for most of you, but driving is very painful for me.) A little of trouble with my back and legs. I�m better today, but I still need to catch up on my sleep. Sleep will do you good, ya know?

So, I spent last night lounging while thumbing through my history boxes. Some mighty interesting stuff in that there history.


The home front has quieted down some but work is picking up speed again. Here�s some of that.

(Boss:) Cruel-Irony, this document was changed yesterday so I need you to update your analysis.

(CI:) Argh. I HATE that. What�d they do to it now? (I pull it up.) Ack! It�s the cows again! Why are the cows always sneaking into my documents?! And look, they brought the usual suspects with them AGAIN � the sheep, goats, pigs and chickens. Why oh why do the cows keep doing this to me?

(Boss:) Cows?! What are cows doing in there?

(CI:) I have no idea. They�re sneaky bastards though. Oh, and look at this! Now it affects This and That and Another Thing. AAARRRGGGGHHH! I hate those cows! (Heavy sigh.) When do you need this?

(Boss:) Tomorrow� morning� by noon. (Note: this was very late in afternoon.)

(CI:) Uh, sure.

(Boss:) They changed this document too. Well, and this one. Oh, and this other one. But, I won�t need those until Friday so you have a lot of time. (A lot of time? Right. That�s in addition to the other seven she needs by the end of the week.)

(CI:) You are so mean to me! What is with you and the cows? I just can�t believe how mean you are.

(Boss:) Have you finished this other one yet?

(CI:) How can I with you and the cows constantly throwing curve balls at me? Hey, where are you going? YOU CAN�T RUN FROM ME!

Then, I believe I threatened her too.

Can I say insubordination? Why, yes, I can. And look � insubordination � I can even spell it. I�m not in denial about my insubordinating nature. In fact, I�m one with it. Of course, I only do it because I know I can get away with it. Well, and it makes us laugh. However, I wouldn�t recommend that you try it with your boss because your boss probably isn�t as cool as mine. I�m just saying.

You know, all�s fair in love and war. Oh yeah, this doesn�t have anything to do with either love or war. Nevermind then.


Did I mention that I ran out of my blood pressure medication last week? I ordered a refill 12 days ago, and I�m still waiting to receive them. I did receive my breathing meds yesterday, so well, I�m still breathing. I�m also waiting to receive another daytime medication and my nighttime meds.

Of course, on most of them, I didn�t have any refills left so then my doctor has to approve more refills. Blah, blah, blah. And, you just know he�s on vacation. Argh. Just for the record, I still have refills left on my blood pressure meds so that means that I better call and check because they probably called them into a pharmacy instead of mailing it as I requested.

I only have myself to blame, of course, but let me tell you, it�s pretty damn easy to lose track of all of them. They all run out at different times. Most of the time, I�m ahead of the game, but sometimes it slips my mind.

And, in case you forgot, let me remind you that I�ve been just a wee bit busy lately.


Of course, I ended today on a high note. Here�s that.

(CI:) I�m going home, Boss. Oh, and by the way, I decided to go on vacation. Starting tomorrow. I�m sure Colleague can handle all my files while I�m gone.

(Boss:) Vacation request DENIED. You�re way too busy to go on vacation now. In fact, you won�t be going on vacation anytime soon.

(CI:) See how mean you are to me?! I can�t even take a vacation anymore.

(Boss:) Come to think of it, since you live so close now, you could go home, eat dinner and then come back and get some more work done.

(CI:) Uh, see you tomorrow!

See, I know when to hold them, I know when to fold them, I know when to walk away, AND I know when to RUN.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003