9:10 p.m. | 2003-07-30

I Bring Home The Bacon And Fry It Up In A Pan.

Mmmm, bacon. Unfortunately, I didn�t buy any bacon when I went shopping yesterday, but it sure sounds good. I think I could live on it. Of course, I wouldn�t live long, but I�d be happy.

Anyway, it was payday, I did go to the Farmer�s Market at lunch to purchase fresh fruit, veggies and flowers, and I came home and cooked up/prepared a week�s worth of breakfasts and lunches. Had I been thinking of it yesterday, I would have got the fixings for BLT (bacon, lettuce and tomato) sandwiches. There�s always next time though.


Boss went to the Market with me. I walked away with peaches, tomatoes, cucumbers, red, orange and yellow bellpeppers, red onions, celery and a bouquet of sunflowers of varying colors.

Trust me, I could have done more damage than that. Easily. It�s incredibly amazing how much better fruits and vegetables taste when allowed to ripen naturally instead of chemically.

This is the first time I�ve had time to go to the Market since it opened several months ago. I do believe there�s a Farmer�s Market near here on Saturdays too. Gotta check that out.


This afternoon, OurBoss came over to MyWorkPlace for a status meeting. We go over all our files and somehow, I always end up walking away with new assignments. Colleague didn�t receive any new assignments because he�s going on vacation next week. In fact, it�s quite amazing how he�s always going on vacation when new assignments pop up. I think he�s gone on vacation 4 or 5 times this year while I haven�t had a vacation since last year.

Interesting.

Anyway, for some reason, OurBoss seemed to spend most of his time looking at me while he was talking. Of course, every time he looked at me, I could only relive that whole awkward toilet paper situation of yesterday.

And, I can trace that all back to Colleague. First he jinxed me by asking me if I ever see OurBoss at TheHotel which resulted in the TP incidence which probably reminded OurBoss that he hasn�t met with us for a while � because, out of all the divisions under his purview, we cause the least amount of grief for him � and, then he caused all these extra assignments to fall to me since he�ll be gone for a week.

Oops, I wandered off for a bit. Back to the meeting. During such, OurBoss told me that he had almost stopped by my Dreamspace recently to give me an assignment, but he resisted. I told him that I have a footstool near the door � as I�m not tall enough to see out of the peephole � just to screen for any of his unexpected visits, and if he did drop by, I wouldn�t be answering my door. That, of course, is an empty threat as I�m quite fond of my job.

After the meeting, Boss suggested that, if he ever did visit me during off hours, I should just hand him a roll of toilet paper. Yeah, like I want to cement that moment in his mind. Geesh.


According to my new schedule, tonight I�m supposed to be cooking and cleaning. I did the cooking/food preparation part, then considered the clean up of that process as the �cleaning� portion of my chores. And, I can do that since I make up all the rules. Or rather, the guidelines. I�m all about flexibility.

For my breakfasts, I arranged a marriage between two counties by mixing polska keilbasa with Spanish rice (made with fresh tomatoes, of course). I�ll eat that with a green salad (mixed greens, purple cabbage, carrots, celery, mixed bellpeppers, red onion, cucumber and tomato topped with Italian dressing, sunseeds and bacon bits).

For lunches, I made turkey pastrami-dill pickle-mixed cheese on dill rye bread sandwiches that I�ll eat with nicely ripened peaches.

Not that you care or anything. But, there it is.


Just in case you�re wondering, this whole new scheduling system is the result of my Virgo tendencies relating to order, organization and self-discipline. It makes the workdays a bit taxing, but I�ll be loving my chore-free weekends. That�s for sure.

And, my weekends better be fun, dammit. I�m just saying.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003