9:57 p.m. | 2003-08-05

Apparently, I�ve Been Missed.

A couple of entries back, I mentioned that my 72-year-old friend Alex told me that her son had written a article in a newspaper and I told her I�d print it for her. I did print it but then I couldn�t find her as she�s out and about a lot.

However, tonight, when I went to take my walk, I saw my whole posse of rebel senior citizens (Alex, Carl and Chuck), outside huddled together. No doubt they were talking trash about those �damn old people� at the Senior Center.

So, I dashed back upstairs, grabbed the article and headed towards my Posse. My Posse, being rebels and all, was standing in the middle of the street, which is not something I�d recommend.

I approached them and handed Alex the article she mentioned plus another one her son had written that he probably never mentioned to her. Then, I was subjected to a sudden explosion of verbosity particular to seniors. Here�s that.

(Alex:) Oh, Cruel-Irony! Come over here. Look! It�s Cruel-Irony!

(CI:) Hi guys. Alex, here�s the article your son wrote, plus another one.

(Alex:) Did you read it?! What�d you think of it?

(Chuck:) Hi Cruel-Irony.

(Carl:) Isn�t that awful?! (Referring to the subject of the article.) And, where have you been? I�ve been looking for you EVERY day and I NEVER see you anymore.

(Alex:) Yeah, isn�t it awful?! Did you like my son�s writing? Can you believe what happened there?

(Carl:) I even look in the alley everyday and I never see you. NEVER. Why haven�t you been visiting us?

(CI:) I, um�

(Alex:) Oh, you�ll never believe it but Carl saw �Seabiscuit� and he LOVED it! Didn�t you Carl? Tell her how much you liked it.

(Chuck:) I gotta go. See you guys later.

(CI:) See ya, Chuck.

(Carl:) I really did like the movie. Cruel-Irony, have you ever had a lump in your throat and have a tear well up in your eye?

(CI:) Yes, I have.

(Carl:) That movie does that to you!

(Alex:) Cruel-Irony, you should go see that movie with Carl on Saturday. He�d love to see it again and you said you wanted to see it.

(CI:) (Whoa, Nelly.) Yes, I do want to see it but, unfortunately, I�ll be out of town on Saturday.

(Carl:) Where have you been? Why haven�t you visited us?

(CI:) Sorry, Carl. I�ve been busy working, unpacking and getting settled. (Apparently, they think I have as much free time as they do.)

(Carl:) Well, I have to go now.

(Alex:) What�d you mean you havta go? Like to the bathroom?

(Carl:) No, to the store. I�ll be back. Are you guys gonna be here later?

(Alex:) No, I�m going to bed now.

(CI:) I have some things to do Carl, but I�ll come back down later. Are you gonna be out here?

(Carl:) Yeah.

(CI:) I�ll meet up with you later.

(Carl:) Don�t forget because I have something for you. (Carl leaves.)

(Alex:) What? He has something for you?

(CI:) He knows I like old pictures of MyTown. He promised to show me some that he has.

(Alex:) Oh, okay.

Alex and I talked for about 20 more minutes before we both went in. Here�s some of that.

(Alex:) Did you really like my son�s writing?

(CI:) Yeah, I did. He�s a good writer and he did a thorough investigation. It�s a really good article. But, I have to admit that one line really made me laugh. (Note: It was a serious and somber article, not a funny one.)

(Alex:) Really? Which line was that?

(CI:) Lets see� this one right here. X stepped out to take a leak.

(Alex:) (Laughing.) Does it really say that?

(CI:) Yeah.

(Alex:) See, I told you he was a beatnik. He reminds me of Y at the CoffeeHouse by TheLibrary. Have you been there lately?

(CI:) Uh, the CoffeeHouse or TheLibrary?

(Alex:) TheLibrary.

(CI:) No. I haven�t been to TheLibrary for years.

(Alex:) Really?! I go there everyday. I mean, what else am I gonna do? Hang out here with all these old cranky people? I have my own table up on the 4th floor. You should go there with me.

(CI:) I�d love to but I have to work during the day.

(Alex:) Oh, right. Well, you should go there anyway.


I�m headed back out now to see if Carl�s hanging on the streets.

Wish me luck.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003