10:52 p.m. | 2003-08-21

No Pain, No Gain. I Should Be Gaining A Lot By Now.

It�s been a day of pain, you know, physical pain. I�ve not had one of those in awhile. Let me just say right now, that I'm not really one with that. Outside of those random fugue states when I�m not really aware of, well, anything.

However, despite the pain, there were some �precious� moments today.


First off, I�d just like to thank one of the major sponsors of my pain today� my work email inbox. Damn you for not being as huge as infinity.

See, Boss sent me a rather brief email, so I attempted to respond to her only to have such an attempt foiled by a rather full inbox. I immediately started deleting useless emails and filing away others in subfolders. Then, I�d tried again. Unsuccessfully. After about a � hour of such bullshit, I got off my duff, walked to Boss� office and responded verbally to her requests, fully expressing my exasperation with my full inbox.

I would�ve called her but I don�t know her phone number off the top of my head since we�re within hearing range of each other. And, I would have just shouted out my frustration expect that it contained several choice words.

I have to admit though, that I�ve received several warnings about the finite capacity of my inbox and my need to clean it up some. I�ve done some random sweeps but hadn�t really tackled that issue.

Long story short, heh, I spent a better part of today deleting and reorganizing my emails. All that repetitive pointing and clicking led to some shoulder/back pain. Some severe pain. On top of that, I had to listen to stuff while I did cleanup. It�s a good thing that I practiced listening because I was able to tune out and tune back in pretty well.

After we were done listening, Boss asked me if I wanted to take a walk with her to shake it off. It looked like it could rain, but why would it? So we stepped out. I think we took 3 steps before the torrential downpour hit. Of course, this being summer, we weren�t prepared for that. And, we were both wearing white shirts. It wasn�t long before we realized that it looked like we'd just entered a wet T-Shirt contest. We headed for cover to wait it out. Then, we dragged our sopping wet selves back to the office.


Later on, Boss asked me if I wanted to walk across the street to MyOtherWorkPlace with her to deliver some files. I quickly agreed. Again, we took 3 steps before it started raining, but it was a light rain this time so we continued on.

Currently, there�s a canvas awning above the entry door to MyOtherWorkPlace because they had to change the main point of entry and sometimes there�s a line to get in since they pretty much shove you through a MRI for security purposes.

There wasn�t any line today so we were in and out in a flash, relatively speaking. We were talking as we exited the building and walking under the canvas awning. Suddenly, there was a very loud popping kind of noise that came from above. Here�s that.

(CI:) Holy shit! (We both ducked and prepared to take cover. As if we really know how to do all that. I must say that our instincts are pretty sharp though.)

(Boss:) What the heck was that?

(CI:) (Relaxing.) THAT was a pinecone that fell on the awning. It�s good to know our reflexes are in shape though.

(Boss:) My god, that was really loud.

Then we both had to take a moment to calm down our heart rates. Because a pinecone fell out of a tree. Good lord.


Quote of the Day:

I know where my erogenous zone is� it�s in my head. In fact, they have a name for that. It�s called mind fucking. (One of my friends commenting, in jest, on female sexuality.)

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003