7:53 p.m. | 2003-08-30

It�s My Party And I�ll Laugh If I Want To.

My birthday celebration started yesterday. Boss and Colleague took me out to lunch. During such, we had a rather interesting conversation, to wit.

(Boss:) My mother still wishes I had married my first serious boyfriend.

(Colleague:) My mother�s glad I married my wife, but my first serious girlfriend�s mother wishes I had married her daughter. In fact, a few years after we broke up, my ex-girlfriend got married and invited me to the wedding. When I was dancing with her mom, she (her mom) told me that I should have been the one standing at the alter with her daughter.

(CI:) I�m still very close to my first serious boyfriend�s family but my ex-boyfriend won�t even look at me. Fortunately, he lives in another state. He got married too, but he�s still mad at me. Even his family tells him to quit acting like a jerk about it.

(Boss:) My mother still talks about my ex-boyfriend. He�s also married, but whenever he sees my mother he asks about me, then my mother tells me all about it. I keep telling her that I went out with him 30 years ago, I married someone else, and she should stop bringing it up. She thinks he�s so great but really, he�s a control freak. And, I�m NOT the kind of woman to be dominated by a man.

(Colleague:) No, you�re not. You�re the kind of woman to be manipulated.

(Boss:) Exactly. Well, as long as I don�t know I�m being manipulated.


Not too long after we got from our late lunch, MyWorkPlace went to a skeleton crew for the rest of the afternoon. Colleague stayed while Boss and I left. We dropped by a local Greek Festival to check it out.

Of course, I had to get some great, traditional baklava too. See now, that�s a perfect birthday treat.


I started off my 39th year today by sleeping in. Then, I went to a new Saturday brunch place. That was not so good. For whatever reason, the last two places have had way too many lecherous old men for me to enjoy a relaxing meal. Back to the drawing board once again.

After brunch, I took the gift card I got from Eldest Sister and the cash I received from StepMom and went shopping for some snazzy new kitchen accessories. Then, I went a got the fixings for mimosas, it being my birthday and all. I haven�t made any up yet, but I�ll get to it soon.

I checked my mail when I got home. Somehow, in the last month, I managed to end up with credit balances with the Cable Company, the Credit Card Company and my Long Distance Telephone Company.

Happy Birthday to me! (Knock on wood.)


Then I headed to OldTown because they�re having a big ol� event. Mostly, I went to check in with Spin, the owner of my Favorite Antique Store, and to people watch. There�s nothing more fascinating than watching tourists.

I stopped in to see Spin first. We got caught up on news and chatted. Here�s some of that.

(CI:) Hey, it�s my birthday today!

(Spin:) Really?

(CI:) Yeah.

(Spin:) So how old are you now? 32?

(CI:) Oh please, I�m 39.

(Spin:) No way!

(CI:) Way. I was born in �64.

(Spin:) Oh, wow. I wish I�d been born in �64. (Sighs.) I was born in �49.

(CI:) Well, you�d never know it to look at you. Be happy for that.

Then, I was once again bamboozled by current technology. Spin was sitting at his desk (store counter) when his Kermit the Frog phone rang. He reached in his pocket, extracted and answered his cell phone. While he was talking, I wandered off to look at books and found one I wanted. After he got off the phone, this happened.

(CI:) Your Kermit phone rang yet you answered your cell phone. How does Kermit know your cell is ringing?

(Spin:) Well, the call comes into the Kermit (store) phone, and then it�s transferred to my cell.

(CI:) Oh, of course. (Translate: Duh.)

(Spin:) You found a book you�re interested in?

(CI:) Yeah, it�s a great book actually. I bought a copy of it a few years ago, but then I loaned it to Dearest Sister. I love her and all, but I know better than to think I�ll ever get it back, so I might as well buy it again.

(Spin:) Just take it; consider it your birthday present.

(CI:) Thanks, Spin.


On another note, a while back, Girl�s Don�t Cry asked to be reviewed. Being the copycat that I am, I did the same. So, here�s my review. I thought it was very sweet of Danielle to say such nice things on my birthday and all. And, if you haven�t checked out Opal Reviews, you should. They�re fun to read.


Well, I�ve got mimosas that need mixing and celebrating that needs to be done. But, a special thanks to all of you who wished me a Happy Birthday. It was much appreciated.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003