9:33 p.m. | 2003-09-04

A Secret Fantasy.

I have this rather odd fantasy that involves TheHotel having a fire, or better yet, something less damaging, that requires immediate evacuation. Why? Good question.

See, TheHotel has a very cool, original fire escape and I so want to traverse it. In its entirety. It�s the very definition of an �attractive nuisance�. Really. I swear if you looked it up in your handy Black�s Law Dictionary, there�d lay its photo and the original plan depicting its complete layout.

Unfortunately, I believe I signed an agreement that I wouldn�t explore it. Instead, I�d use the modern stairwell. The stairwell we all climb up and down on a daily basis to take the trash out or walk to our respective vehicles. Yawn.

Now, in an actual emergency, I could just climb out my bedroom window and use the old fire escape. More importantly, in my fantasy, I�d travel around the whole building using only the original, Dijon-colored catacombs. Along my journey, I�d peek into people�s windows, gathering decorating ideas and interesting tidbits of information, and make friends with those who I met along the way.

Eventually though, I�d wind up back outside my window. Then, and only then, I�d climb down the last ladder, panic at the thought of dropping 10� to 15� feet, but agree to let go of my death grip to fall into the arms of a hunky fireman, who would actually be Lancelot.

Of course, I�d also take the time to inspect that odd, orange blob of something which resides within my fire escape area. I can only give you an impression of my observations since I haven�t been able to inspect this, well, blob.

I don�t know what it is, but it has hardened, calcified or settled into some sort of permanent state. I choose to believe that it�s the very heart of �The Blob�; it�s just dormant.

In my fantasy, I check it out. And, with the warmth of my hand, �The Blob� is once again resurrected and starts to grow. At this point in my fantasy, I turn that part over to the Hollywood folks and continue down a different road with fireman Lancelot.

Just imagine. The Blob alive again. Like zombies, though, I think it�d be scarier if it moved faster this time around. I�m just saying.

Did I mention that my mind is a labyrinth? With no noticeable exits? Or any? No? My bad.

But, heh, welcome to my world.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003