7:22 p.m. | 2003-09-15

Kissing The Ground.

I had an enjoyable weekend all the way up until last night. I decided to take the trash out and was almost to the bottom of the stairs when I experienced a rather forceful muscle spasm in one of my legs. That caused me to lose my balance and I fell right on my, well, face.

I�m not quite sure exactly what happened or in what sequence, as it happened rather quickly, but I know it wasn�t a graceful move at all. And, unfortunately, my face appears to have suffered the brunt of the injuries.

I have a scraped up swollen knee, a small abrasion on one hand, but my face? It�s a mess. I have a huge bump right in the middle of my forehead, accompanied by two decent-sized abrasions. I also have a small cut on my eyelid, small abrasions on my nose and cheek, and a swollen scrape beneath my eye. Some blood was shed in that little accident.

Normally, I use the handrail but I�m a right-handed railer. On the way up the stairs, the railing is on right; on the way down, the railing is on the left. Hence, I have a tendency to �follow� the wall down and use the handrail on the way up. Not anymore.

The worst part is that, at first glance, I look like a domestic violence victim. On closer inspection, it�s apparent that I have �road burn� all on my face. But, who makes distinctions like that in passing? Random cuts and scrapes don�t normally bother me, but this time I�m praying they�ll go away quickly.

Meanwhile, I can cover everything up if I let my hair hang down over the right side of my face. It annoys the hell outta me and makes it trickier to see, but it�s working for the moment.

Fortunately, I�m working from home for a few days. Better yet, I still have all my teeth and my new glasses didn�t break. They need adjusting, but still.


I received my new pedometer in the mail today. Of course, I�m not really too keen on taking long walks with my face all tore up. But once I no longer look all beat up, I plan on putting some miles on that little puppy.


I have a hell of a headache, so I�m off to get an ice pack. You all be careful on the stairs � they can be hazardous you know?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003