12:03 a.m. | 2003-09-21

Cool Or Not?

I talked to Dearest Sister tonight and she was telling me about a current household debate that�s been transpiring. Here�s some of that.

(DS:) My kids told me that I�m not a cool mom. Can you believe that shit?!

(CI:) Well, they�re young (15 and 21) so I believe they�d say that, but they�re so wrong. You ARE a cool mom.

(DS:) I AM! And, I told them that. At first, they scoffed and when I pressed the issue, they started laughing. They laughed a lot. Can you believe that?!

(CI:) Yeah, actually I can believe that because they�re young. But, you�re right, you ARE a cool mom.

(DS:) They even told me that no matter how cool I am, I could never be a �cool mom�. I am so cool it�s not even funny. I just can�t believe it.

(CI:) It�s a phase; they�ll grow out of it.

(DS:) It gets even better. See, one of Happy�s (her younger son) friends hangs out here everyday after school. He comes home from school with Happy, I feed them dinner, and this kid, he stays here until 7:30pm. Then, he takes the bus home. But since he lives outside of town, he doesn�t get home until 9:00pm or so. So, I asked Happy why this kid is always over here. Do you know what he said?

(CI:) Uh, because he�s a teenager and doesn�t want to hang out with his parents at home?

(DS:) Exactly.

(CI:) That�s rich, Dearest Sister. Pure irony there. Your teenage son says that you�re not a cool mom and then explains to you that his friend stays at your house because his parents aren�t cool. Your 15-year-old son is at home, sitting in the same room explaining this shit to YOU. That�s fucking funny.

(DS:) That�s what I thought too.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003