11:15 p.m. | 2003-09-22

I�m Going Places, I Tell You.

Recently, I purchased a pedometer � just for fun. It seems like I walk a lot, so I wanted to find out just how much I walk on a regular day. Mind you, this measuring device is in no way, shape or form part of an exercise program. I�m only good at exercising if I don�t believe that I AM exercising.

Anyway, in the last week, I�ve taken 40,380 steps, give or take a few. That�s slightly more than 8 miles, or a little over a mile a day. I expect that number will increase some � as an average � because for 2� of those days I worked from home. Plus, my face was all jacked up so I didn�t do a lot of the running around I normally do.

Of course, I may be speaking too soon. You�ll have to stay tuned to find out if my mileage increases or decreases. OOOOH! A cliffhanger. I wonder how the season will end.

I think this would be a lot more exciting if it wasn�t so, well, pedestrian. But, there it is.


Don�t think the excitement stops with that. Oh no. See, there are some things that I�ve been withholding from my diary.

For example, there�s the little war I�ve been having with the towel rack in the bathroom. The one that should be very conveniently, and diligently holding up my bath towels. That doesn�t seem like a lot to ask of a few pieces of metal, at least to me, but you�d think I�d tasked my towel bar with competing in the Olympics or something. I�m sad to report that it actually overachieves at underachieving.

It�s a fucking towel rack for god�s sakes. How hard is that? Well, okay, I�ve never spent 95% of my time holding towels, but still.

The point is, that damn thing falls down all the time. Big deal, right? Except that it clatters to the floor in the huge echo chamber that is my bathroom. (Mind you, the bathroom itself is small, but it does have a huge echo effect.) Besides the fact that I�m probably annoying the guy who lives below me, I have to say that it�s fucking irritating to spend 20 minutes, several times a day, trying to get this damn towel rack to stay ON THE WALL. Where it belongs, I might add.

So, I took the first step to winning this strange little battle of Cruel-Irony vs. Towel Rack. I know. I can be bold like that and all. Anyway, I asked HotelHandyman if he could either fix this problem or replace the dang thing. He said he�d take care of it.

I hope I win this battle. I�m just saying.


I�m sure that, by now, you guys are thinking I make this shit up, but I need to pay my respects to Mr. Reaper once again. Albeit, it�s not as personal to me as the last several have been.

One of my colleagues died this morning. Less than a month after she was diagnosed with an advanced condition of cancer. She wasn�t a person I worked with much, but we shared the same type of humor.

I�m gonna miss swapping sharp and witty one-liners with her.

That's for sure.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003