10:48 a.m. | 2003-09-24

The NIMBY Syndrome.

When you really get down to it, the �Not In My BackYard� (NIMBY) Syndrome is just part of human nature. But it�s fickle. It�s only an issue when it IS in your backyard. Or heading to your backyard.


I was carrying groceries in when I happened across the HotelHandyman (HH) on the back stairs. He was standing on the first floor landing and appeared to be staring at the wall. Looks can be deceiving. Here�s some of that.

(CI:) Hi there. Are you studying the wall?

(HH:) Yeah. Well, not exactly. I�m checking out this window. (Pointing to a resident�s window that�s accessible from the landing.) There�s some evidence that someone tried to break in through here.

(CI:) Wow. Really?

(HH:) Yeah. That�s the problem with this outside staircase. Anyway, I�ve secured it from the inside but, as you can tell, it�s not really secure from the outside.

(CI:) You really think someone tried to break in? I mean this place is pretty secure. Excepting that screen, of course.

(HH:) It�s hard to tell actually. I thought all the lighting was enough.

(CI:) So did I. I�ve never noticed anyone loitering about here. However, there is that guy who uses the faucet right down there (pointing toward the bottom of the stairs) to clean up. But, he�s harmless much as I can tell.

(HH:) There�s a guy who uses that faucet?

(CI:) Yeah. I�ve only seen him during the day and he just washes up his hands and face. He�s very polite and doesn�t appear to be disturbed at all. He�s never bothered me.

(HH:) I�m gonna have to put a lock on that faucet. See, you�re brave but the gal that lives here� she�s really young, and she�s frightened. So, thanks for telling me about that guy. I didn�t know about that.

(CI:) Well, I don�t think he�d try to break in, however I do know that once one person knows about free access to water, in a somewhat private place, there�s certainly more who will follow him. And, not all those people will be good people.

He thanked me once again and I carried my groceries upstairs. Later, I realized that I forgot something in my car so I headed back down the stairs. By then it was dark and there actually was someone lurking under the stairwell. I walked out to the street and waited. Shortly afterwards, a guy emerged who was definitely not good news. At all. Fortunately he quickly ran off in a different direction.


I tend to have a rather accurate freak-o-meter that alerts me to those who pose danger out on the streets. The harmless folks don�t want to bother you and would really prefer to be invisible. I give them the proper respect.

There are also those who just want to frighten you. I stare those folks down. They leave me alone.

Then, there are those who actually intend to hurt you. I avoid them as much as possible and confront them when I have to.

However, a young lady like the one downstairs might not know the difference and is likely to be scared of all the street folks.


Which brings me back around to NIMBY. A lock will go on the faucet, screens will be secured and more lighting will be added because �we� don�t want �those� people in our backyards.

That�s one of "those" things. As much as you don�t want to see people being homeless, you don�t want them in YOUR home. Or even in your backyard. It�s a tough call.

This is Cruel-Irony saying goodnight and be safe.


That just seemed fitting as I feel like I�ve just done some special news report or something.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003