6:51 p.m. | 2003-10-02

50 More Things.

1. I recently noticed that my desk calendar is displaying the month of March 2003. I should fix that.

2. I�m happily addicted to Trading Spaces and all derivatives thereof. My overall favorite designer is Genevieve Gorder, I mean, if it was my house and all. My favorite carpenter is Amy Wynn Pastor.

3. I love learning about different cultures.

4. I�m the third of four daughters. I�m more commonly known as the �smart� one and always wanted to be the �pretty� one. Behold the power of labeling.

5. Dearest Sister is the �pretty� one. She is pretty. And, smart. And, a whole hell of a lot of fun.

6. I�m very organized and detail-oriented. Both can be really great or very annoying.

7. I�ve built sand castles and snowmen.

8. I�ve lived in five different states.

9. I�m fascinated by architecture, especially relating to historical buildings.

10. I lean towards the stoic side. Hell, I�m totally impassive. That�s only on the outside though. Don�t let me fool you.

11. I love words, language and communication. I practically cried when I completed all my English classes in college. That didn�t take long since I studied Business Administration and majored in Human Resource Management.

12. Oh yeah, I tend to be very practical, logical and grounded. I saw more future options in studying business. However, I�m not sure that made a difference in the end.

13. I was on the news once. I was featured on a special news report. I didn�t enjoy it at all.

14. I was also quoted several times in a news article. I wasn�t too keen on that either.

15. Right at the moment, my toenails are painted but my fingernails are not. Yes, I know the fashion police would ticket me for such a violation, but I really don�t care.

16. I really miss watching Absolutely Fabulous.

17. I�ve actually found myself considering getting a cell phone. However, my �considering� phase usually lasts a long time.

18. I love walking to work.

19. I cannot walk on a treadmill. I just can�t do it. They told me to walk normally, but you know, the ground does not normally move when I walk.

20. I love fresh flowers.

21. My plants at home are doing well; my plants at work are thriving.

22. I�ve ridden in a taxi just once. In London.

23. I�m not one to yell, scream or throw things. I�m more likely to walk away and come back later.

24. I like to try new things.

25. For the first time in my life, I don�t have any pets. It�s strange and slightly unsettling. However, a couple of neighborhood cats visit me when I take walks.

26. In high school, I received a Bank of America Achievement Award in Social Studies. Social studies. People watching. Hmmm.

27. I have a penchant for office supplies.

28. I�m teaching myself to parallel park and I�m getting pretty good at it. Albeit, I�m sure it�s quite comical to watch.

29. I like beads, especially glass beads.

30. If I were a tree, I�d be a really short one. Probably a bonsai.

31. I don�t like wearing shoes.

32. I like making lists and do so on a regular basis.

33. I don�t understand why everybody else isn�t as fascinated with history as I am. I�m learning to deal with that.

34. I get really mad about senseless vandalism. I understand why people do it but it�s such a waste.

35. I love bacon. I�m always in the mood for some bacon.

36. I like learning about various organized religions even though I don�t participate in any. I am spiritual, but it�s more of a personal thing to me.

37. I love laughing. Hence, I hang out with funny people. Or rather, people who are funny.

38. I�m watching more network TV, but I still love HGTV, The Learning Channel, Animal Planet, Discovery, Bravo, A&E and, of course, The History Channel. Oh, and PBS too.

39. I love stained glass.

40. I have one trophy. My sisters gave it to me when I finally graduated college � it took me about 10 years attending night school. It has a lamp of knowledge on it.

41. When we were very young, Dearest Sister and I would climb up on the barn roof in our Hawaiian grass skirts and hula dance for the cows. I have no idea what the inspiration for that was. We didn�t even know how to hula dance. However, the cows never complained.

42. I love to fly. I especially love take offs and landings.

43. In high school, I used to drive MyDad�s motorcycle. Mostly, I taught myself how to operate it, and I didn�t have a license. Good thing I only drove on roads with infrequent traffic.

44. I�m a very curious person. Sometimes, that gets me into trouble.

45. I�ve lived in the country, in small and medium-sized towns and the city. They all have advantages and disadvantages.

46. Currently, I�m the only person in my immediate family (including Steps) that lives in a city. They all live in small towns.

47. My family celebrates Christmas in July. It works for us.

48. I�ve never been in trouble with the law. (Knock on wood.)

49. I�m considering becoming a docent. I would have never thought of doing that had I not been asked. Me, a docent � I find that particularly funny myself. A great idea, but funny nonetheless.

50. JournalCon woohoo! I�m just saying.


On another note, I�d like to thank each and every one of you who took a moment to send me good wishes, offer encouragement, or just to commiserate with me over my pain and trouble of late.

It really means a lot to me, I really appreciate it, and it really does make a difference.

So, thank you.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003