| 2003-10-11

Necessary Evils.

Several days ago I realized (translate: admitted) that I needed to do some more clothes shopping. Since I lack any sort of shopping gene, that�s a chore for me. A dreaded chore. However, when I do shop, I like a bargain. And, today was the last day of a massive sale at a particular DepartmentStore.

Only a few obstacles. One, I hate shopping. Two, DepartmentStore is in TheMall that I detest. Three, I particularly hate shopping at TheMall. I don�t mind MyMall, but I hate TheMall. TheMall involves hectic traffic, difficult parking and crowds of people. In other words, TheMall is a typical one.

Anyway, I started with brunch, of course. After that, I really just wanted to go home, but I toughed it out and drove to TheMall. Once there, I re-discovered a pet peeve of mine � driving around looking for a parking space. For whatever reason, that makes me nauseous. I�d rather park in another state and walk than drive around and around a parking lot. So, well, I parked in the nether regions of the lot.

I mad-dashed it to DepartmentStore and headed to the floor that contains ladies� apparel. I kicked out the toughest stuff first � shopping for the clothes that go under. You know, the underclothes. Or underwear. Or undies. Whatever.

Call it what you want, but it�s not a place I like to dwell. It�s kind of like infrastructure to me � most of the time, it�s not seen. It�s just there.


Speaking of such things, I also needed socks. However, women�s socks are too big for my feet and, after making an inquiry, I discovered that the Girls� Section was on a different floor. I figured I�d hit that on my way out.


I traveled on to the petite section. I wanted a pair of low-rise jeans but couldn�t find anything that fit. Fortunately, I wasn�t accosted by any salespeople. At all. I was free to move about as I saw fit. Heh.

I do have to say that my body really seems confusing although it appears to be normal. I think it�s really all about sizing. I don�t know who makes this stuff up, but it doesn�t make any sense to me.

If I did a drawing of myself based on the clothing sizes I bought today, it�d look pretty strange. I�m not that strange.

See, I had to buy new bras because, well, I needed them, but the ones I had were too small to go around my body. Yet, it was difficult to find a shirt that was small enough for me. Same thing with the pants. And, the jackets.

It�s like I�m a huge small person who's short in the torso, legs, arms and feet. Yet, I�m proportionate. What is up with all these bizarre sizes?

Anyway, I survived and shit. In fact, it was kind of nice because I didn�t have a salesperson hounding me and it wasn�t really crowded because I went late in the day. However, I had almost an instant migraine.

Because of neglectful parents, unruly children and humungous strollers. I love the wee ones, but not so much when they�re strangers, stepping on me and throwing huge fake-crying tantrums. Not to mention how they�re so easily underfoot. Well, and the exit-door alarm which was blaring away. For a really, really long time.

Notwithstanding all those obstacles, I managed to find some clothes that fit and that I really liked. Many hours had passed by that point. After purchasing these items, I remembered that I had to go to another floor to get my socks. Dammit.

I studied the DepartmentStore map, but really, I had no idea where I was or what I was doing at that point. I hadn�t had any water for many hours � I need to drink tons of water to make my medication work, so when I don�t, I�m not only dehydrated, I�m suffering � but I forged onward. Bravely, I have to say.

I also have to say that I really have no brain anymore. Really.

I knew I had to go to the Girls� Department to buy socks, yet I figured that�d be easy so I could do it last. It didn�t even cross my mind that the Kids Department would be full of, well, KIDS. Loud, obnoxious kids. And, little girls that, apparently, only wear bobby socks. Bobby socks weren�t what I had in mind, but I hoped they�d fit.

Just for the record, they don�t. Not properly anyway. The heel is still around my ankle if I don�t make them loose around my toes. What�s next? Infant socks?

So, as I was standing in line to purchase the socks, there were three things going through my mind. One: somebody please just shoot me now. Two: shut that fucking kid up. Three: restrain that fucking child� and teenager, and parent.

Not my best moment. Fortunately, I kept my thoughts to myself, purchased my socks and headed out.

Because I was parched, I stopped to get something to drink. However, due to my parchment, heh, I found that I could barely speak. I wanted ice tea, but they had just dumped it out. I opted for a diet coke. I immediately guzzled half of it.

Then, I headed out to my car. In the dark. Parched and carrying a very heavy bag. By the time I reached my vehicle, the diet coke was gone and my hand was numb.


Once home, I immediately drank huge quantities of water, sat down and flipped on the TV. Then, I slowly pulled all my purchases out of the bags.

And, I have to say, this is the first time since FOREVER, that I� Okay, I just wanted to say this is the first time since FOREVER because, well, because it doesn�t make any sense, and I�m feeling nonsensical.

But, I did layout some of the clothes I bought because I really like them. It�s been a long time since I�ve just gone shopping like that. While I don�t like the process, I do like the results.

Well, and I got a leather jacket. At a steal. Me in a leather jacket and bobby socks � lookout Grease! Uh, I mean, JournalCon.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003