Late | 2003-10-12

I Shopped Until I Dropped. Then I Went Out.

I went grocery shopping today. Let me just say, it took a long time for me to get out of bed this morning. This afternoon. Whatever.

I don�t believe I�ve ever done back-to-back days of clothes and grocery shopping. I got out of bed about 100 times, then returned.

Staying in bed has to be one of the best ways of procrastinating. It�s like a responsibility-free zone. I tell myself that I don�t have to do something until I get out of bed. Then, I just don�t get out of bed. It�s like, �No, I can�t do that yet, I�m still in bed. I haven�t gotten out of bed yet. I�ll get right on that, you know, once I�m out of bed�.

But, eventually, I got up, showered and reluctantly, out the door to go shopping. I went during the football games because it�s not so busy then. And, it wasn�t. But now that I think of it, there were a lot of men shopping by themselves and asking me questions. Non-sports fans? Non-football fans? Very hungry men? Single men who know women go shopping when football�s on? I don�t know, but it was kind of strange.

There were a couple of couples too. Young couples (20ish). At one point, both couples were trying to buy milk but couldn�t figure out what milk to select. They were confounded by the different colored cartons, whole milk, 2%, 1%, nonfat and whatnot. I edged my way in, grabbed my 2% and continued.

I think kids are raised on formula, cola and coffee anymore. Anyway, just for the record, I hated every second of grocery shopping. But, it�s nice to have food once again.


Someone, and by �someone� I mean deeranged, made an inquiry about Lancelot. He�s alive and well. In fact, we had dinner together tonight and enjoyed a lovely evening.

Fortunately, he�s pretty familiar with my eating habits. I have a tendency to graze. I can�t eat a lot at one sitting, but I can (and do) eat small amounts all day long. That�s how I was fed as a child, and that�s how I tend to eat.

However, he�s not so familiar with my Winter appetite. This is one of the worst times of the year for me (hence JournalCon) because of the time and weather changes. That increases my pain quite a bit. Plus, it ruffles my feathers. Or something like that.

Anyway, I get real hungry, but after two bites, I�m done. Not that I�m full, but rather I lose interest in eating because it�s painful for my hands and my stomach gets unsettled. Then, I have to stop and rest before continuing.

It annoys the hell out of me. It�s like accidental aversion therapy.

I have to say, Lancelot dealt with it just fine. We had a wonderful evening, which was a great way to end two consecutive days of shopping.

And, it far surpassed being �taken out back and shot� which was on my consideration list.


I was out late, but fortunately, I have tomorrow off. And, I get to do laundry and cooking.

Good lord, could my life get any more exciting?

Why, yes it can. JournalCon�s right around the corner. Just saying.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003