10:22 p.m. | 2003-10-26

Well, The Bagpipes Were A Surprise.

I�m back from �the spreading of MyDad�s ashes� occasion. It went well, I suppose. You know, as well as those sort of things can go.

And, I�m OKAY. Well, except that I�m tired as hell, every muscle is screaming with pain and I�m exhausted. Repetitious too.

But yesterday, MyDad was honored in his death by a young man who played Amazing Grace on his bagpipes at the very most poignant moment of the occasion.

It was a difficult moment for all of us, but I imagine that it was a little surreal for the rest of the folks that live on the mountain.

It�s not likely that any of those folks have ever heard bagpipes live or at all, and the area is very quiet. Sound travels. Very Far.

For one brief moment, the mountain became the Highlands of Scotland. It made plaid appropriate. It made us all pull up our breath deeply. It made us mourn from the bottom of our hearts. And, it made us sigh with heavy resignation.

But, the bagpipes were perfect.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003