10:43 p.m. | 2003-11-20

I�m Not Counting My Chickens Before They Hatch, But I�m Hopeful.

So, job hunting. Yeah. I haven�t bothered to record any of it because, well, you all know how it goes. As do I. Not a lot of glamour or excitement in the process.

But, I have been pounding the pavement. Well, to the extent that it involves envelopes and stamps. Albeit, I have hit the streets to drop off resumes, buy envelopes and purchase stamps.

I�ve not heard a word back, excepting the one letter I received that verified that they�d received my package, if you will. However, I expected that letter. Otherwise, it�s been very quiet on the job-hunting front.

Anyway, I sent off my cover letter and resume on Monday in regards to a job I just recently learned about. And, they called me today to set up an interview for early next week. I was sitting at my desk talking to Boss at the time.

And, since it�s our slow season � even slower since we�re dissolving � but, oddly, I have much to do. However, I�ve not been receiving phone calls outside of internal ones. And wrong numbers. It�s become so quiet, it startles me when my phone rings.

Actually, Boss and I were walking away from my desk when my phone rang today. Here�s what happened.

(CI:) Hey, that�s my phone. I really need to take this call. (Note: I had no idea who was calling.)

(Boss:) Cool.

(CI:) Good Morning, MyWorkPlace. This is Cruel-Irony.

(Caller:) Hi, this is Caller from PotentialEmployer.

(CI:) Oh, hi. Thanks for calling.

(C:) We received your resume and my boss would like to meet with you as soon as possible. Is that okay?

(CI:) Sure.

So far, out of all the jobs I�ve applied for, I�ve been the most passionate about this one. This is also the PotentialEmployer that I least expected to respond. Wish me luck, cross your fingers or pray for me. Or all the above. You guys are amazingly powerful, so I�ve got a lot of faith in you.


Boss and I went to lunch today. We opted for a quick lunch because Boss had some card shopping to do. To wit.

(Boss:) Ironically, I need to buy a sympathy card and a wedding card for one of our neighbors.

(CI:) Well, I think you just managed to sum up this year in one sentence. Wacky, wacky stuff. What�s the deal?

(Boss:) Her 46-year-old brother just died and their daughter is getting married next week.

(CI:) Ouch. 46?

(Boss:) Yeah, 46.

(CI:) I hope this coming year is a lot more mellow.

(Boss:) Me too.


And, next week, Colleague officially becomes older than me. Yeah, it�s the big Four-Zero for him. So, for the next nine months, I�ll be younger than him.

However, I�ll only have a month or so to gloat about that before MyWorkPlace melts into a tiny little puddle.

But, when opportunity knocks, I always answer the door.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003