5:15 p.m. | 2003-11-21

Really, It Could Happen To Anybody.

While Boss and I were walking to lunch today, she shared a couple of stories with me. This is that.

(Boss:) Remember yesterday when I went over to MyOtherWorkPlace to pick up that package to deliver it to MyAssociate�s house in BossTown. (She was doing a favor for another associate.)

(CI:) Yeah.

(Boss:) I went and picked it up, drove to BossTown and proceeded to MyAssociate�s house. Now, I knew she wasn�t home, but I�ve been dropping stuff at her house for years. So, when she�s not home, I just place it at her backdoor.

(CI:) Makes sense.

(Boss:) However, when I pulled up in front of the house, there was a pickup parked in the driveway and lights were on. I figured she had a houseguest and I didn�t want to frighten them by walking down the driveway to the backdoor. So, I decided that I would go to the front door first.

(CI:) What happened?

(Boss:) Well, a woman answered. She was in a robe and was talking on the phone. I told her that I was just dropping off a package for MyAssociate. The woman said she�d take it and give it to MyAssociate when she got home. I told her I�d just go ahead and set it at the backdoor. Then the woman said: �Well, uh, she doesn�t live here; her house is next door.�

(CI:) Oh my God! That�s hysterical. I mean, you�ve known MyAssociate and have been going to her house for over 20 years.

(Boss:) I know, but see, their houses look a lot alike, they both have the same color door and this woman�s outside light was on and MyAssociate�s wasn�t (it usually is). It was dark out. And, well, I wasn�t really paying attention.

(CI:) That is just too funny.

(Boss:) You wouldn�t believe what I did years ago when she asked me and BossHusband if we�d give one of her cats its medication while she was away for a weekend.

(CI:) I can�t wait to hear this.

(Boss:) Well, MyAssociate told us to be very, very careful when we opened the door because this particular cat � she had several � was really good at sneaking out of the house. She told us that we should enter and exit both quickly and carefully.

(CI:) And?

(Boss:) BossHusband and I went over to her apartment, entered very quickly and carefully, then set about to find the cat to give it its medication. We looked everywhere and couldn�t find that particular cat. We found all the other ones, but not that one. I mean, we looked everywhere.

(CI:) Did it get out?

(Boss:) Yeah. I looked up and saw the cat sitting outside the window. I told BossHusband to hurry and get the cat before it took off. He got the cat, brought it back inside and we gave it its medication and food. Then we left. Very carefully. But, when we got outside, I suddenly had this very strong feeling that that cat was not MyAssociate�s. I even told BossHusband that. But, you know, it looked like the right cat and such. So, we went on with our business.

(CI:) What happened?

(Boss:) Well, I was right; that wasn�t MyAssociate�s cat. Nor did it get along with her other cats. When she got home, the drapes were shredded, clothes were all over the place, cabinet doors were open, things were broken, etc. There was cat hair all over the place from fights and stuff. It was a total mess.

(CI:) Oh my God! What did MyAssociate say?

(Boss:) She said that she would never, ever ask us to cat sit again.

(CI:) You grabbed a stray cat, medicated it and then locked it in her apartment with her other cats? That�s classic. I wonder what the cat thought.

(Boss:) Well, you know, he did look sick. And, he did look like MyAssociate�s cat.

Good thing cats have nine lives. And, Boss still has hers.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003