12:00 a.m. | 2004-01-23

Just Call Me Jodie. Or Jody. Or, You Dirty Rotten Bastard. It�s Of No Matter To Me.

Now that I�m in an office down the hall, I�ve made a conscious effort to spend some time with each of my new colleagues. So, today, after I finished the assignment from Hell, I wandered down the hall and settled into the �guest chair� of Unit Assistant (UA) and proceeded to get my chat on. So to speak.

She�s really cool. Young, of course, but very cool. Anyway, at some point, our conversation took this turn.

(UA:) You look like Jodie Foster. I�m sorry, I�m sure that people tell you that all the time. Sorry, it�s just that you do look like her.

(CI:) That�s funny. Yeah, some people have told me that, however, I don�t see the resemblance. And, only a few people have told me that over the years.

(UA:) Really? I mean, you really look like her.

(CI:) Yes, really. I do have to say that the people who think that� well, they have a conviction about it. Maybe there are people who think that and don�t say anything, but the people that do say something� uh, they really feel strongly about it.

(UA:) What�d you mean?

(CI:) The pharmacy lady. She�s the best example. See, I used to go to a certain pharmacy and she worked there. The very first time I walk in, she actually thought that I was Jodie Foster. So, she fawned all over me and whatnot. I made it clear that I wasn�t Jodie, but she didn�t seem to really care about such details. Every single time I went in there, she greeted me as �Jodie� and always called out that �Jodie�s� prescription was ready.

(UA:) That�s funny.

(CI:) You know, I don�t really care what people call me, but I thought it was funny because she had full access to my records and, obviously, the prescription carried my real name. But, she was convicted about it. To this day, I really believe that she thought �Jodie� was picking up Cruel-Irony�s prescriptions. She was definitely a true believer.

(UA:) She really called you �Jodie�?

(CI:) Yeah, she did. Even though I corrected her the first dozen times. I gave up after that because I really didn�t care. I just wanted my prescription filled.


I had forgotten about that whole �Jodie� thing because it doesn�t happen very often. But, as I said, when it does happen, they�re very convicted about it. Personally, I don�t think I look like her, other than the fact that we have the same face shape.

I certainly don�t begrudge the comparison. Not at all. I just don�t see it myself. And, it�s been years since someone�s told me that I look like her.

I�ll take that as a compliment. I suppose. Because, outside of one person, no one has ever told me if that�s a good thing or a bad thing. They�ve just noted a resemblance.

With conviction.

Seriously. I could start a fan club based on their conviction. I�d only consist of a few people, but hey, It�d be a fan club, right?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003