12:15 a.m. | 2004-01-24

Sometimes It�s Matter Over Mind, Even Though I Prefer It The Other Way Around.

Today was an interesting day. On many levels. I talked to several people that I�ve never talked to before. That�s not necessarily interesting, but it was today.

I also made a deal with OfficeMateColleague (OMC). I�ll do a final �proof� on his work if he�ll do a final one on mine. He�s learned enough already to know, that after you�ve written something fifteen times, you really can�t proof it anymore. Plus, even looking at it makes you want to vomit.

He thinks what I�m writing about is much more exciting than what he�s writing about. I agree. And, the phone calls were fun, but if I have to read my writing even one more time, I swear that I�ll turn all Linda Blair and puke up vile. Or, split-pea soup. Whatever. It�d be nasty, that�s for sure.


Anyway, Colleague, OMC and I went to lunch today. We had to walk together for several blocks to make that happen. You know I love that part. However, at some point, I ended up walking in between these two. Remember how I guestimated that OMC was over six feet tall. Yeah, I was right there.

It was like walking with trees. Really. Just for the record, I�m not quite five feet, Colleague is six-two and OMC is six-four.

The silly thing is that I didn�t realize that OMC was that tall. I actually thought that he was around six-two and just seemed larger in our rather modest office. I have to say that I�m really glad that I took the smaller space in that office. He would�ve been trying to type with his knees up around his face had I taken the larger space.

However, I do have to mention that, in addition to Colleague stepping on my shoes, OMC has a tendency to knock me over when we walk together. Alas, a standard sidewalk is just not big enough for the three of us. I�ve taken to walking on the inside to avoid being accidentally shoved into traffic.

Do you tall people ever bother to look down? Ever? I mean, do you see the people you�re stepping on? At all? And, what about left-handed people? Just thought I�d throw that in to see if anyone�s paying attention.


After work, everyone at my NewWorkPlace went over to MyOtherWorkPlace to attend a social gathering. All went well; it was all good. And, you know that Colleague and I have been to MyOtherWorkPlace many, many times.

However, we haven�t been there after hours.

We graciously bid everyone adieu and left out of the room together. We were laughing and talking as we proceeded across the lobby area. Then, Colleague attempted to open one of the doors so we could leave.

It didn�t open. He pulled the door several times. No go.

The look on his face: priceless. Really, it was. He even tried the other door, and that didn�t work either. We actually stood there looking quizzically at each other for a long time. I don�t know what he was thinking, but I was already looking around for a water source.

Truly, it was pathetic. And, that was reflected on the face of the official who finally walked over and pushed the door-opening button. Mounted conveniently right next to the door. It was marked too � as the door-opening button.

Colleague tried to save the moment by mumbling something about �new-fangled devices�, but it was truly pathetic. However, on our behalf, I will say that we normally only go over there during work hours when the doors open freely. There are guards, of course, but the doors aren�t locked.


You may not think that�s funny at all, and I�ll give you that. You really had to see Colleague�s face and the look the official gave us to truly appreciate how surprised and idiotic we looked.

It may have made the official�s day though.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003