9:34 p.m. | 2004-02-08

Because I�m Worth It.

Taking care of me takes a lot of work. I know, because I�m the one doing all the work. Funny that.

So, every other week or so, I go grocery shopping � which I loathe � and, every weekend, I cook up all my meals for the week. Because there is no way in H E doublehockeysticks, I�m gonna come home and cook/prepare my meals on a daily basis.

My daily goal is pretty much just to make it through the workday. Once that�s accomplished, any chores/errands that get completed are the proverbial frosting on the cake. Except, not that sweet. Or pretty.

Alas, I digress. There�s no better place to digress than Diaryland, I swear. They don�t let me do that at work. Well, not in my written work. It�s all technical or whatever.

Anyway, I got up early to throw some ribs and BBQ sauce in the crock pot, grab the newspaper and go back to sleep. And, trust me, even that wasn�t easy. I need my beauty sleep and how.


Later on, I got up, showered and proceeded to go online to catch up with all my diary reads. That�s gonna take some time but I�ll get there. I could skip all the entries I�ve not read but I might miss something important.


After hours of that, I had to stop so I could finish cooking/preparing my meals for the week. This week, I�m having BBQ ribs, pasta salad, turkey pastrami sandwiches, citrus fruits and veggies/salads. Not all at once, of course.

I like the majority of my food intake to consist of homemade meals prepared with fresh foods. That requires a lot of preparation and whatnot. But, remember, I�m worth it.

I tend to forget that fact during the hours that it takes me to make all this happen.

So, I was dicing some celery for my pasta salad, with my knifey-like thing that doesn�t seem to be sharp yet cuts through it like butter and prevents that whole celery string thing from happening, when I had a little muscle spasm and just barely nicked my thumb. Barely. Just some nicking.

A little bit of nicking is similar to a paper cut. Blood fricking everywhere. The life-force is not something I really want in my pasta salad. Pine nuts I want. Blood, well, no. Not that.

Off to curtail bloodletting and to find a bandage.

And, if you cook and/or prepare food at all, you know that a simple nick messes up that whole thing in a big way. Slice a pinky? Not a big deal. It�s easy to keep a pinky all lofty and whatnot. Not so easy with a thumb.

Due to blood flow, continuous hand washing and cheap bandaids, it�s hard to keep it all clean. So to speak. But, I did. Because I�m worth it.

Sometimes, my worthiness irritates the heck out of me. Yet, it�s reassuring in an odd way.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003