10:54 p.m. | 2004-02-24

Come On� Join The Party.

I went to lunch today with Colleague (C) and Boss� Former Boss (BFB). By the way, BFB needs a new moniker as he�s now my former boss� former boss. I think that means it�d be illegal if I ever bore his children in Alabama. Or whatnot.

Not that I would, especially since he�s married and such. Just that labeling him as �FBFB� seems akin to seven degrees from �somebody�. Well, and repetitive. That being the case, he�ll remain BFB here. Try to keep up, that�s all.


Anyway, after we were seated, our waiter came over and this happened.

(Waiter:) (Mind you, I�m paraphrasing here.) Oh hey, did you see that shooting star that just went by. Wait, it�s daytime. No shooting stars. Lunch. Okay, don�t mind me� I just have to shift into my �lunch mode�. I�ll be right back. It�s really busy right now, you know? (Wandering off.)

(BFB:) I really appreciate it when my waiter tells me straight out that he�s high.

(CI:) That�s what I was thinking. It should be interesting.

(BFB:) Oh, it will be. I�ll tell you that right now.

He was one of the funniest waiters I�ve ever had. He was also right on with the service and whatnot. The words seemed to be mixed up, but he knew what he was doing. And, for the first time in my life, I had a waiter magically appear with a to-go box.

Sorry to say, even Boston Boston doesn�t do that. And, I go to �his� restaurant regularly.

We were impressed. And, he received a great rating from BFB (who spews out the comments similar to Simon on a continuous basis), but our waiter will never know that because he didn�t say anything to him. But, here�s what BFB told me.

(BFB:) I thought the guy was high, but now I�m thinking he�s a savant.

(CI:) Me too. He got that whole �box� thing right off the bat; I didn�t even have to ask.

(BFB:) He�s a really great waiter.

(CI:) Yes, he is.


Now that I think about it, BFB is very much a �Simon�. He�s cruelly accurate, and voices his opinion, so it can be hard to take. And, compliments are rare and mostly heard through the grapevine.

However, I don�t care about that crap. He just makes me laugh. And, he�s like an elephant with the remembering stuff. Do right by him and he�ll do right by you. Forever. Cross him in a bad way? He�ll cross you forever.

We just don�t go there.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003