11:04 p.m. | 2004-04-28

Often, I Speak Before I Think. Even After I Think That I Thought. About Whatnot. Or Whatever.

Eh, who cares? Well, besides me.


Some background might be in order. Hence, we have a weekly meeting. It�s not a pleasant gathering but we do make sure the right hand knows what the left hand is doing. Mostly. Sometimes. Maybe.

Last week, NewBoss told us to let him know if we�re planning to take any time off during the summer. In the regular scheme of things, when you�re �tasked� with something in the weekly meeting, that means you have to address that issue before the next weekly meeting.

So, um, today was the last day, to me, to bring up that issue. To lay it on the table, if you will. And, I did. Here�s that.

(CI:) Hey NewBoss, can I talk to you for a minute.

(NB:) Sure.

(CI:) You told us to tell you if we wanted any time off during the summer and I do so that�s what I want to talk about.

(NB:) Okay. No.

(CI:) Hee. Say no all you want, but� wait� OH. MY. GOD.

(NB:) WHAT??!!

(CI:) I just realized that I came in here to ask for a SATURDAY off. That�s SICK. OH. MY. GOD.

(NB:) The answer is still no. Wait, a Saturday? When?

(CI:) In August. I know, I know. You�ll hate me. Whatever. Hell, I already gave up my Writer�s Conference. Just for YOU.

(NB:) Really?

(CI:) Yes, Yes. I did. Just for YOU. And, you can�t even comprehend what that means to mean. (Waving goodbye to JournalCon. Please, feel free to shed tears for me; I�ll be doing a lot of that myself.)

(NB:) So, what day do you want off and why?

(CI:) You know, I don�t even have to ask permission, since it�s a SATURDAY and all, and I certainly don�t have to tell you WHY I want it off� but I will. And, my request shouldn�t shock you since I already gave up my Writer�s Conference. Anyway, I need August 28th off for Christmas in July.

(NB:) What? Say again?

(CI:) I need SATURDAY, August 28th off for Christmas in July.

(NB:) You�re talking gibberish now. Christmas in July? That�s not even a holiday. And, you want a day off in August? How does THAT make any sense?

(CI:) And, don�t forget� I�m in here asking you if I can have a SATURDAY off. Don�t forget that part. I know that Christmas in July is not normal, but that�s when my family has it. Except that, this year, it�s in late, late August. It�s actually my birthday weekend. But, that�s how it goes.

(NB:) Not okay. Make �em change it. July is better for ME.

(CI:) July is better for me too. However, it�s in August this year, and you know, my family doesn�t give a rat�s ass about what YOU think about it.

(NB:) How would they feel if I fired you?

(CI:) Well, pretty much, I don�t think they�d really care about it unless my unemployment resulted in me living in their house. (Understatement there, but heh.)

(NB:) Heh. Yeah. I don�t care. Take whatever Saturday you want.

(CI:) Frankly, since it�s a Saturday, I don�t even know why I�m asking. And, I didn�t intend to do that. I was just planning on giving you notice that I�d be unavailable on that day. You know, as a COURTESY.

(NB:) You know I�m joking, right?

(CI:) You know I was being courteous, right?


That was the �easy� part of my day. The harder part came at lunchtime. Just a hint, if you want me to eat and retain food, don�t spring unexpected news across a table. I�m just putting that out there. I actually did eat and retain my food, but it didn�t settle well. Perhaps, it was because of this news.

(YoungerSister:) (At the end of the meal while I�m relaxed.) Oh, by the way, Mother is moving to MyTown in two weeks.

(CI:) Really?

MyTown? Yeah, not big enough for that.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003