10:22 p.m. | 2004-05-26

Don�t Try This At Home, Er, Work, Kiddos.

NewBoss (NB) called me into his office to discuss one of my files today. Late today, actually.

We were discussing verbiage in general, and mine specifically. That prompted NB to check his �word for the day�. Here�s that.

(NB:) Let�s see. Hmmm. My �word of the day� is authoritarian.

(CI:) Hee.

(NB:) It means, uh, �blind submission to authority�. Huh.

(CI:) So, um, how�s that working for you?

Then, I witnessed a series of facial expressions right before NB threw me out of his office. Well, he didn�t actually throw me out; he merely stressed, strongly, that my absence would be very, very welcome.

Oh and what? You didn�t actually think I�d suddenly lose my insubordinate ways, did you? You�d be so wrong. So, so wrong.

I was actually cruising down Insubordination Lane long before NB kicked me out.


But, he did bring up a good point. That point being my sassy nature. He says �sassy�, however, I insist that I�m �sassay�. Said, of course, with a great accent.

I am a smartass, and I do sass� that�s not always appreciated, you know? My mother used to thump me in the mouth at the same time my father laughed. And, I�ve had the same mixed reviews since then. I�m here all night. Just so you know.

And NB? He totally wants to �thump� me � and that�s not any sort of euphemism at ALL � but that�s really hard to do when you�re laughing.

Once again, I�m on the �short list�. It�s only a short list because he doesn�t carry grudges and he forgets that he�s mad at you. You always want to be on the �short list� as opposed to the �long list�.

I was overdue too. It�s about time that I got back on the short list. And, hell, insubordination gets me right there quickly� every time.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003