11:03 p.m. | 2004-05-25

Okay, I�m Addicted. To, Um, Soybeans. What The Hell?

Yeah. soybeans. Go figure.

Now, I love fruits and vegetables so it�s not a stretch� but I�m so married to beef, chicken, pork and whatnot. So I was somewhat surprised.

I�m also wedded to potatoes, mostly - when measured against other starchy food choices.

In fact, I love, pretty much the whole food pyramid. I might just marry it. It would be an unusual wedding for sure� what with the cows and such, but hell, it�d be a lifelong commitment for sure.


But anyway, soybeans. Yeah. I was positive that soybeans contained a boatload of sugar, caffeine, fat or even crack, since I�m so addicted. But alas, from what I gather, it�s mostly PROTEIN and FIBER.

Just so you know, my diet is already full of protein and fiber. I�m not thinking � even remotely � that I need more of that. Yet, the soybeans would suggest otherwise. And, I�m seriously addicted.


I do know that I like to �play� with my food, though. Not in the cat and mouse type of way� just, I�m a fiddler. Well, not a fiddler in the sense that I play the fiddle � not that at all � just, um, well, I�m a food doodler, I guess.

You know how some people doodle? Mostly on paper? Yeah, like that. Only with food. Except not on paper. Oh hell, you know what I mean.

That being the case, you�d think snap peas would work, but no they don�t. I�ve been eating snap peas for weeks and guess what? They�re not soybeans. Oh sure, you can fiddle with them, but they don�t even come close to the coolness of the soy. The soybean, of course.

I don�t know what to make of this new �habit�, but I don�t think it�s bad. You know, overall. It�s certainly not crack, and that�s always a good thing. No offense to any crack addicts reading this� but even you�d have to admit that soybeans are better for you than crack. Not as pleasurable I�m sure, but less damaging. I guess.

I can�t think of anything less �offensive� to get addicted to. Maybe tofu? Isn�t that some form of soy though? They�re related somehow right? No? Okay well, I�m ignorant. I�m not knowledgeable about this kind of stuff.


So, here I sit. Addicted to soybeans. And, well, mystified. Do I need to join a twelve-step program? Is there a soybean �god�?

I know there�s a �higher power�� I call him NewBoss actually, as do you. Well, you probably don�t call him �NewBoss�, but you get my drift. I also recognize that there�s a power greater than NewBoss. Several actually, but that�s not what I mean.

What I�m saying is that I am spiritual, and I am now addicted to soybeans. And oddly, I�m thinking I shouldn�t be addicted to them so I should ask for help. You know, spiritual help.

Except, I�m addicted to way worse things than soybeans. I think. But still, I�m wanting some beans like right now. RIGHT NOW.

If you were walking, um, down the hallway right now and carrying soybeans, I�d so rob you. Except I�d be really polite and just kind of ask if you�d share or whatnot. But, if you didn�t share, I�d so be calling you a Rat Bastard. And, I�d emphasize the capital letters.

Under my breath, of course. We�re talking soybeans here. How worked up can you get? Outside of dedicating a whole entry to the subject?

I mean, really.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003