10:15 p.m. | 2004-09-29

Hey Hey, Baby On The Way.

If you think I�m pregnant, well� you�d be wrong. But, I suspect I garnered your undivided attention. At least for a second.

Now that I have it, presumably, here�s the deal. My phone rang tonight and I actually answered it. Cue the trumpets.

(CI:) Hello?

(YoungerSister:) Hi. LittleNephew wants to tell you something.

(CI:) Um, okay.

I hesitated because LittleNephew, who�s now 4 years old, tends to mumble and, well, he�s 4. I mumble all the time so I�ve always secretly enjoyed that characteristic of LittleNephew, but his mumbling has not made it any easier to understand him. Especially on the phone. Usually YoungerSister translates for me and I was concerned that I wouldn�t understand his message. Particularly since he also has a habit of repeating things from random sources. Like Thomas the Train. I�m not bilingual in that way.

(LittleNephew:) Hi! I�m gonna be a big brother� in APRIL!!

(CI:) You�re gonna be a big brother in April? (Frantically trying to absorb this very clear message.)

(LN:) Yes!

(CI:) YAY! Are you excited?!

(LN:) Yes!

(CI:) Um, do you want to have a little sister or little brother?

(LN:) We don�t know yet.

(CI:) Of course. But what do you want?

(LN:) We don�t know yet.

(CI:) I know, but what do you WANT? A baby sister or baby brother?

(LN:) We don�t know yet.

At this point, I wouldn�t have been surprised if he just told me he didn�t care and just wanted a �healthy baby�.

(CI:) I see. Well, that�s really exciting! Yay! You�re gonna be a big brother! Yay for you!

(LN:) Yay!

(CI:) Hey, can I talk to your mom again?

(LN:) Yeah. I love you.

(CI:) I love you too.

(YS:) Hi.

(CI:) Congratulations! Just an hour ago I was explaining to a friend of mine how you weren�t gonna have another child. That�s funny. I guess I was working off old information.

(YS:) Yeah. We talked a lot about it and changed our minds.

(CI:) That�s great! I�m loving you for that. You guys have definitely �programmed� LN well. What�s up with the �We don�t know yet�?

(YS:) We don�t know. He doesn�t seem to understand the question yet.

(CI:) Well, have LN call me again when he figures it out.

LN has to absorb and analyze change before making up his mind. Much like myself. But, whatever. Who cares?

The important thing is that I�m gonna be an aunt again! Yay!

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003