10:41 p.m. | 2004-11-13

It�s A Small World. After All.

Earlier this week I vaguely remember someone inviting me to attend some event today. It could�ve been when I hadn�t eaten yet or when my eyes were severely dilated (due to an eye exam). I wasn�t sure. Until UnitAssistant (UA) reminded me that she�d invited me to go with her, and several of her friends, to an art exhibit. Kind of a walking one. It�s one where you walk around in a certain area and check out the local art galleries. Or places that display local art such as restaurants, fashion boutiques or well, art galleries.

I�ve always known that MyTown is very artistic. Mostly because I love local art, know many artists and have visited many galleries. However, most people who live in MyTown don�t realize that it�s very cultural. Of course, most of those people don�t live or visit the Downtown area which is where it�s concentrated.

Anyway, we did part of this walking art touring thing and we had a substantial group. I was excited about all that since I love art and I got to meet new people. Including those within our group. Interestingly, everywhere we went, someone knew an artist or ran into someone they knew.

Just as I was starting to feel like an outsider, we came across a gallery � that was tucked away � in which I ran into several of my neighbors. Neighbors in the sense that they live down the hall from me. I had no idea they were busy doing all that. Friends of mine.

Their art? Um. Not mainstream. Or maybe it is. In certain circles. I�d call it �comic strip pop art with a twist�. I guess. Enhanced by freehand, last minute, graffiti-type commentary on the walls, floors and ceilings. Stuff like �This SUCKS� and whatnot. Only the �this� is substituted with an arrow.

Very creative. (I don't mean that sarcastically. Surprisingly.)

And this building also housed the works of other artists. Quite diverse. However, it included all �R� rated stuff. The nudes and whatnot. Since families are a large part of the demographic that attends this event, there was a warning. Apparently. We just blew past that.

I do know many very respected and actually renowned artists so I had to laugh at the fact that the only artists that I ran into were the ones that in the �R� rated building. Heh. I know people.


Then we went to a very cool local bar. Where I was complimented a lot and told that I�m way prettier than Jodie Foster.

So, of course, I left while I was still that �pretty�.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003