7:04 p.m. | 2004-12-31

2004 Year In Review.

It�s hard to believe that it�s the end of the year already but it is so I figured some sort of review was in order. To wit.

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

Fired a gun or rather a whole bunch of guns, ate Thai food and went on a pub crawl.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Yes. Yes.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes. GuyFriend and his wife had twins, BFB (a friend) and his wife had twins and Nick (former colleague) and his wife had their fourth boy.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thank goodness.

5. What countries did you visit?

Well, a lot if watching The Amazing Race counts. If it doesn�t then none. In fact I don�t believe that I traveled more than 100 miles from MyTown. Because I was working all the time. That�s so sad.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

A better balance in my life. I worked for years to achieve such a balance but sadly, that all went down the drain when I started working for NewBoss. I�m determined to find a solution.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

You know, remembering dates � or names � is really overrated. I don�t remember squat anymore so I doubt that I would ever remember a specific date from this year. Especially since nothing really remarkable or earth-shattering happened.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Facing and overcoming many of my fears.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Housekeeping. I�ve always a real neat freak and my place was almost always spotless. Yeah. I don�t care so much anymore. It�s all so terribly boring, tedious and repetitious.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Outside of the fibromyalgia, I didn�t suffer from any serious illness or injury.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Tickets and related expenses for trips UA and I took to various places and events throughout the year. We had a blast and went several places I�ve wanted to go for years.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Well, certainly not mine. I�d say BestestGirlfriend � she is truly a fantastic friend.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

I don�t have a ten-foot pole and I�m not touching this question without one. And, even then I�m not so sure if I would.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Housing, law school student loan, savings and, of course, taxes. Oh, and lets not forget the office; I don�t even want to know how much I spent in donations for birthdays, baby showers, going away parties (tons of those), flowers, housewarmings and the Canned Food Drive. All good causes, of course, but my word, it�s expensive to go to work.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Personal growth. And, the trip to the historical site.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

Uh� hmmm� Christmas songs I guess. This is the first year in several that I�ve actually enjoyed them.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

Happier. Definitely.

18. Thinner or fatter?

Fatter. I�m gaining weight for the first time in years. At first, I was happy about that, but enough already.
Richer or poorer?

Definitely richer. But about the same financially.

What do you wish you'd done more of?

Traveling.

What do you wish you'd done less of?

Worrying/Bitching about stuff that, in the long run, isn�t really important.

22. How did you spend Christmas?

I spent Christmas in July with my family members engaging in regular traditions. Well, except we didn�t do duck races at the creek � instead, the kids assembled cardboard airplanes and raced them. I spent Christmas in December at YoungerSister and YSHusbands� home. I played a couple of games with Little Nephew but mostly visited with the grownups.

23. Did you fall in love in 2004?

Ha.

24. How many one-night stands?

None.

25. What was your favourite TV programme?

Could�ve been The Amazing Race or Wife Swap. But then again it could�ve been Colonial House or America�s Next Top Model. Obviously, I like reality shows� really people are so fascinating. I�m still a huge fan of Law & Order and all its derivatives. Hell, I don�t know what my favorite show was.

26. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Nah. I don�t really hate anyone. However, there are a couple of people who I feel indifferent towards.

27. What was the best book you read?
he�s just not that into you by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo. It�s actually a very simple book about a simple concept, but I have to admit that it�s made a difference in my life.

28. What was your greatest musical discovery?

That as much as I absolutely love music, I don�t much listen to it except when I�m in my car or when I�m snoozing to the alarm clock/radio. I haven�t bought a CD in a couple of years and have only bought a total of three or so in my life. The fact that I love music but don�t really spend much time listening to it is a mystery to me. I have not yet solved this little riddle.

29. What did you want and get?
More friends.

30. What did you want and not get?

More balance in my life.

31. What was your favourite film of this year?

I don�t believe I saw a film this year. I�m very picky about movies and, while I could go alone, I don�t really want to because I like discussing the film afterwards. I haven�t had a good movie buddy in many years.

32. What did you do on your birthday?

Ugh. I worked. Overtime even. It totally sucked. The coolest thing was that I turned 40.

33. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Inner peace and more balance in my life.

34. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

If it fits, wear it because there�s nothing else in the closet. I really need to go clothes shopping. However, that does make choosing an outfit easier.

35. What kept you sane?

Frankly, I don�t know. Hope plays a big part though.

36. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I don�t know. I don�t pay much attention to celebrities. Public figures? Lets just say that an election year doesn�t bring out the best qualities there.

37. Who did you miss?

DearestSister, BestestGirlfriend and MyDad.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Mrs-T (wife of my colleague T-Bar).

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004.

Being vulnerable is not a bad thing. It�s merely a common human characteristic. Sometimes, it�s the most charming aspect of a person.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Are you kidding me? Let�s try this: �The itsy, bitsy spider climbed up the water spout. Down came the rain and washed the spider out. Up came the sun and dried up all the rain and the itsy, bitsy spider climbed up the spout again�. That�s actually a pretty good summary of my year.

Happy New Year!

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003