10:17 p.m. | 2005-01-13

My TV Addiction. Let�s Talk About That.

I went to lunch today with UA and it was fabulous. I miss her (at work) a great deal. However, we still work together it�s just that she�s across the street and not outside my office. We both miss all the small talk.

Anyway, we were talking about favorite TV shows. She wanted to check one out tonight but didn�t know when it came on. I told her. UA forgets that type of thing so I even offered to call and remind her. She declined my offer and told me that if she was actually interested in doing something different at that time, whatever she was interested in was probably better for her than watching TV.

Touch�.

See, when I was growing up, TV time was restricted. I spent most of my time outdoors playing or inside reading. Hence, I never really developed a TV habit. Then, from the time I was 20 to 35, I worked fulltime and went to school at night. If I was at home, I was doing one of three things: housework, homework or sleeping. Pretty much.

As a consequence, I was never �hip� when it came to TV. I missed a lot of series. Totally. For years. New series were launched, played for eight years and I never saw a single episode.

I didn�t feel deprived but I did feel out of touch when it came to water cooler discussions. However, I did feel that getting an education trumped sitting on my derriere watching TV.

Oh, but how things have changed over time.

Since the fibro, I�ve had to develop new habits. My hands are my hot spot. Just a regular workday renders them pretty much useless. However, my fibro appeared while I was working fulltime and going to law school at night. Yeah. When I got home I was usually paralyzed. Oftentimes, I had to work through that anyway.

But now? Not so much. I know that the only way to knock out a flare is to rest. And, I have to rest my hands everyday. Frankly, there�s not a lot you can do that doesn�t require some handiwork. So to speak. Even holding a book hurts.

That�s when TV became a regular activity for me. Now it�s one of the few things that I do where I can rest my hands and still be entertained. Just because my hands break down, it doesn�t mean that my brain stops working. Even for a second.

Brain, if you can hear me, please just take a rest once in a while.

Anyway, that�s the reason I watch so much TV nowadays. Especially during the winter when I�m so stiff from the cold. January is actually one of my hardest months. (I�m not hugging that overtime I�m doing right now either. Just so you know. That actually results in more TV time.)

Yet, there is a part of me that cringed when UA said that because there are so many other things I could be doing. If I wasn�t resting my hands. In fact, I�m stretching it by doing this entry. Trust me, my hands are hurting and are inflamed at the moment. But, my diary offers a different sort of relief.

For now? I�m not going beat myself up for some TV watching. In fact, I�ve got a lot of years to make up for. I�m doing the twenty-something stuff now.

I�m a little late to the table but no less hungry.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003