10:36 p.m. | 2005-01-24

Wait, What? Is That The Sun? Yes Indeed It Is.

It�s been very gray and gloomy around here for quite a while. I�ve been trying to keep my spirits up but, honestly, this is the worst month for me weatherwise. I cope the old fashioned way� I just keep putting one foot in front of the other. I know Spring is around the corner and that makes me hopeful.

Better yet, the sun came out today. I can�t even begin to tell you how much that means to me amidst all these blechy days. At lunch, I took a long walk in the sunshine. Sure, it�s still as cold as ice outside but the sun was shining. And, it was clear.

Later, the sun came streaming through my office window which made it very difficult to see my computer screen. Did I lower my shade? No, not for a second. I just spent that time, as limited as it was, doing other work that didn�t require computer use. Trust me, I have all kinds of work so I didn�t have any problem there.

I�m glad I got out and enjoyed the sun because it�s not gonna last. I can feel it in my hands. The weather�s turning again.


When I approached TheHotel on my home tonight, I noticed a large truck parked out front. A moving truck. That intrigued me since I haven�t heard that anyone was moving in or out for the last couple of weeks. I checked the side of the truck to verify it was a moving company. I was surprised to discover that it was a delivery truck for a rent-to-purchase furnishing company.

That whole rent-to-own racket is a wicked thing. I�ve not ever done that myself, but it seems to involve some sort of interest rates that fly in the face of usury laws. Granted, I understand that it serves the needs of some, I just don�t think it�s a good thing. Generally speaking. And, frankly, I was surprised to see such a truck in front of TheHotel.

When I walked into the lobby, I saw a couple of guys trying to fit a gigantic, huge-screen TV into the elevator. Ha. Three regular-sized people barely fit. And, they�re bendable.

So then I re-thought what I had been thinking. I mean, maybe somebody just rented an enormous TV for some reason. For the SuperBowl or a birthday gift. You just never know.

Thwarted by the tiny elevator, the delivery guys decided to try the outside stairs. The inside stairs? Yeah, that idea was quickly abandoned. It can be a little tricky when you live in a historical building. No foresight of big-screen TVs here.

The problem with the outside stairs? Not a straight shot and lots of beams that aren�t bendable. Well, and the fact that those big-screens apparently weigh a ton. When an appliance has wheels, it�s called foreshadowing.

I have no idea how they got that thing up the stairs but they did. Because the stairwell is next to my place, I heard all about it. They stopped about every two steps to rest. I didn�t hear anything break so I figured that it all turned out well.

I had work and things to do at home so I didn�t give it much thought until I finally sat down. And, flipped on my paltry 27� (or whatever) screen TV. Honestly, I don�t know how big my TV is because I don�t really care about screen size. I�m not apt to jump up to measure it either.

However, what struck me was the fact that a gigantic huge-screen TV has absolutely no business being in my place or a few doors down. Give or take, the suites in TheHotel are 600 square feet. (Lots of air space and light though. Ten to twelve foot ceilings with eight foot windows.) That gave me pause. I really don�t know how an enormous TV fits within that scale. Perhaps with a minimalistic approach. A TV and a couple of floor pillows on the opposite wall. Or in the other room? This one is truly a puzzle for my inner interior designer.

It�s a bold move though. Without a doubt.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003