10:24 p.m. | 2005-01-26

This Is Not Music To My Ears.

A long, long time ago � when I was in my early twenties � I worked for a large financial institution. Mostly, I worked with the company officers and department heads. My work involved a lot of writing and oral presentations in addition to all the computer programming I did. And, let me just say that every person I worked with/for had particular word issues.

For example, the president of the company was obsessed with the proper use of �since� and �because�. Trust me, I flinch every time I abuse that rule. See, �since�, is technically time-related and �because� is technically effect-related. Well, and it�s not proper to end a sentence with an adjective, yet there it is.

Anyway, one person I worked with/for was quite particular. As am I. We worked well together but I was mystified by one particular word that she despised. The word was �utilize�. It wasn�t a non-existent word, however at that particular time, it had become all the rage to replace �use� with �utilize�. It about drove her mad. I didn�t see why it was such a big deal because it wasn�t improper. At the time, she was around 40, like I am now. Not surprisingly, I now have a similar complaint.

Specifically, I can�t stand the use of the non-existent word �incentivise� or �incentivize�. Whatever. I haven�t actually seen it in print, I just hear it. And, it�s awful. It�s like someone is stabbing the inside of my ears with a razor-sharp hunting knife.

You don�t �incentivise� anyone. Trust me. You can motivate, encourage or entice people to do things but you just can�t �incentivize� someone. You just can�t. Period. End of story.

Yet, my ears are bleeding almost everyday. Today, they bled more.

I attended a seminar and after all the presentations, they did the whole �questions and answers� thing. The very first question was posed by the random stranger sitting next to me. And, here it is.

�So how do you incentive these people to do such and such?�

I left. �How do you incentive�? I know he wanted to say �incentivize� because he stumbled over it and �incentivize� was a (non) word that was used frequently during the presentation.

I know youngsters want to be all cool and stuff, but that�s just wrong. I also now know why the use of the term �utilize� grated on some nerves. Back in the day.

It�s kind of funny too because I�m really not a member of the grammar police. Obviously. One look at this diary proves that. That�s what I love about my diary. I don�t have to follow the rules. So to speak.

And hey, if you want to incorporate �incentivize� into your diary words, I don�t care. Just don�t say it out loud in my presence.

Please.


Oh, and for anyone out there wondering if the battle is over between me and my nemeses LeeboZeebo, it�s not. Not by a long shot. And, I�ve continued with my recon missions and have added weapons to my arsenal. Mostly through intelligence so they�re not readily apparent. But they�re there.

Don�t doubt that for a minute.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003